Tan Lines

You know how you can still get a tan even if it’s cloudy?  It’s true, especially in southern California.  It was cloudy yesterday, and guess who got a little color?  And by ‘a little color’, I mean ‘sunburned.’  I have some fantastic tan lines to prove it:

Yep – I was wearing a v-neck t-shirt – how could you tell?  Lesson of the day: wear your sunscreen, boys and girls!

That photo reminds me of the two blog posts I’ve written about my collarbones (read them here and here) – I love my collarbones, and I went a long long looooong time without ever seeing them!

On the plus side, I’m pleasantly surprised by my traps.  Which are, of course, the back muscles that extend from the spine to your shoulders and up to your neck.  Trap is short for… um… I don’t know.  Someone help me out?  I’m pleasantly surprised because I’m just starting to notice that I have them, and I happen to think developed traps on a guy is hot.

I mentioned the other day that I used to watch Passions for years, and they found every reason to get the guys on that show shirtless as often as possible, often for days at a time, and I remember watching Eric Martsolf, who played Ethan, and admiring his traps.  They’re easy to admire:

Speaking of Passions, remember when Ethan accidentally slept with Teresa, thinking she was Gwen?  Ethan ended up impregnating Teresa, but the thing was, Teresa was already pregnant: she had kidnapped Ethan and Gwen’s surrogate, assumed her identity, and tricked a doctor into implanting Ethan and Gwen’s embryo in her!  Which meant Teresa was pregnant with the craziest set of twins ever: one was her and Ethan’s baby, and the other was Gwen and Ethan’s baby.  Science, schmience!  Damn, that show was good!

Anyway, I’m sure Eric Martsolf continues to have fantastic traps – he’s on Days of Our Lives now, which I don’t watch.  Oh, and he’s a really nice guy – I met him once.  When I volunteered at a Passions fan event.  Yep, I was a total Passions nerd!

Okay – the soap hunk tangent is over.  Let’s get back on track, David!

Even though the sunburn will surely ache tomorrow, it was worth it – I had a really nice day yesterday.  I headed down to Long Beach (via the Metro, LA’s subway/light rail system – the longest Metro excursion I’ve ever taken), and met up with my friend Karen, who I’ve known through Slimmons for some time now.  She lives down in that neck of the woods, and we went to Seal Beach, and took a good long walk.  First, up and down the beach, then, up and down the pier, which, at a 1/4 mile long, is a long pier:

Here’s a couple pictures Karen took of me:

I look at these photos and think, ‘Man, do I need a haircut!’  There’s an appointment on the books for next week.  I should have shaved yesterday, too… oh well.

And here’s Karen on the beach:

After the beach-walkin’, and the pier-walkin’, we walked up and down Seal Beach’s Main Street, which has lots of cute little shops and restaurants, and then we walked through an adjacent neighborhood of gorgeous, big beachfront homes.  In total, we walked around for probably 2 hours or so.  We worked up a nice appetite, too, and guess where we ended up?

This Whole Foods in Long Beach is, I think, the 6th Whole Foods I’ve been to since getting that kick-ass gift card, and it’s one of my favorites – too bad it’s an hour away!  It’s open and bright and newly renovated.  Here’s the produce section:

I was tempted to pick up a few things, but I didn’t want to lug anything home with me for an hour on the train.  So, instead, Karen and I just got lunch.

Wanna guess what’s in the take-out container?

SALAD BAR is in the take-out container!

This Whole Foods has a Wednesday salad bar special – it’s $5.99 a pound, $2 cheaper than the other days.  I wonder if all Whole Foods do that, or if it’s special for the Long Beach location? 

I loaded up on:  arugula, chard, kale, cucumber, tomatoes, scallions, red pepper, artichoke hearts, pepperoncinis, kidney beans, tuna, carrots, sunflower seeds, a little scoop of a rice/kamut blend, blueberries, and blackberries.  And some apple cider vinegar.  It hit the spot.  I wolfed it down – Karen even commented on how fast I eat – but I was hungry!

I got home in the late afternoon, took a little nappy-nap, noticed my horrible sun-burn, and then, after some dinner (veggie burger, English muffin, condiments, veggies, fruit), it was off to the gym for some fun with weights.

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to Tan Lines

  1. Be careful with that sunburn. Apple cider vinegar helps. Soak a towel in it and then lay it on the burn. Another helpful remedy is buttermilk done the same way, but I can’t stand the smell. Go figure – I like the smell of the vinegar and the buttermilk makes me want to puke! Also an aspirin can help. Not a substitute. Real aspirin, taken the normal way. I say that because I had given a rather ditzy friend the same advice about vinegar and buttermilk, so she ground up the aspirin, dissolved it in the vinegar, and….well, you get the picture, LOL!

    Saw you on Ellen yesterday, getting your Whole Foods gift. You looked amazing and Richard looked old and too thin. What a drama queen! Love him though. Helped me lose about 30 lbs back in the 80s when I thought 160 was over weight! Oh lord, if I could be 160 now!

    Thanks, for your posts. Only 20 lbs down so far and 80 more to go so reading you helps me – A LOT!

  2. Amy says:

    So, you can’t just sort of show us a tattoo and then not comment on it! Fill us in! 🙂

    Looking good, David! I know that a plateau can get you down – but I try to focus on the fact that at least it isn’t a gain and keep saying, “This too shall pass!” Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

  3. Alix says:

    Trapezius!

  4. mary schmitt says:

    love the curls david—save money and wait for the haircut! and also like the skruffy look!-u r way too handsome!

  5. Nurse Karen says:

    Aloe vera gel for the burn. I’m sorry I forgot to pack any sunblock. I haven’t visited outside like that, in years. I hadn’t made time to do much of anything when my family members became ill. To soothe & release some of the heat in your sunburn: Drink even more water, and relax in tepid {wrist-temperature} baths; if you have any Aveeno Oatmeal bath packets, they ease the tight skin feeling. The person who mentioned aspirin {if you don’t have an ulcer or allergy} is right: it helps the pain. I slathered-on Fruit of The Earth’s organic aloe vera gel last night; I am tomato-red, since I came home from our adventure to further be outdoors: Wednesdays are lawncare & trash-to-curb-days in my ‘hood. Mowed my lawn with my little plastic Neuton {electric} which takes about 2 hours. I had such a lovely time visiting with you. You’re a wonderful conversationalist, and the time sped by, like a surfer in the greenroom. Thank you! P.S. You look very handsome, –you have Adonis-type curls–and I love that profile shot of you, with the surfers & harbor in the background. You did the sand-walking & rock-climbing with ease; I know that must be such a point of pride for you on your health-journey. Way to Go, David!!

Leave a Reply

