Welcome! Plus a Chart Update and Some Honesty

A big hello to anyone that’s discovering my blog for the first time today!  Chances are you’re here because you saw me on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” today.  (If you didn’t see me on the show, and would like to, than just go to Watch Me On Ellen at the top of the page!)

I hope you take a look around, because there’s lots to see!  I update this blog 5-6 times a week, so there’s almost always something new to read.  If you’d like to make sure you don’t miss a thing, you can sign up to receive my posts via email – look for the SIGN ME UP button in the right column (right below the black-and-white, head-to-toe picture of yours truly).  You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter, too!

Other things to check out:  Some great ‘Before’ and ‘Current’ photo comparisons in the Photo Gallery, examples of the types of posts you’ll see here in the My Favorite Posts section, and you can read more about my history with obesity and my relationship with Richard on the The Story So Far page.  Oh, and if you wanna read the behind-the-scenes dirt about what it’s like to be a guest on “Ellen”, then check out these posts: Part 1 (filming footage in my home) and Part 2 (what happened the day of the taping).

OK, seriously, David – that’s enough links!  Move on!

All in all, you’re here on a good day, because it’s time to update my weight loss chart!  I weighed myself yesterday – Tuesdays are my weigh-in days.  And I’m also gonna open up and be honest about a few things, which is something I always try to be on this blog.

But first, my chart.  My chart lives in my closet and has become quite popular since first appearing on national TV six months ago (yep, the show today was a rerun – it first aired on January 11, 2011).  It’s also gotten longer.  I’ve added 2 pages to the chart since January, and the chart has outgrown the wall it lives on, so now it turns the corner and lives on 2 of my closet walls:

On the show, I proudly proclaimed that I had lost 159 pounds.  Here’s the part of my chart that reflects that loss:

I weighed 243 pounds when I went on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show.”  So, what do I weigh now, six months later?  Let’s check out yesterday’s chart update:

I now weigh 236.  I stayed even this week – didn’t gain, didn’t lose.  I’ve lost 7 more pounds since I taped the show six months ago, and I have mixed feelings about this.  On one hand, it’s 7 pounds.  That’s a good-sized newborn human being, or a full-grown Chihuahua or Pomerianian.  It also means that, in total, I’ve lost 166 pounds, and that’s nothing to sneeze or scuff at!  It’s an amazing accomplishment, and I know that, and I’m proud.

On the other hand (here’s where the honesty comes in), I know it probably could have been more.  I’ve been stuck in ruts over the last six months.  There were times during those six months that I was trying hard, working my ass off, eating well, and the pounds weren’t coming off.  I accept that that sometimes happens.  It’s called a plateau, and everyone on a journey like mine experiences them.

But, looking back, I know there have also been times when I accepted the plateau, and used it as an excuse to just not work as hard.  It was (and is) so easy to say, ‘Well, the weight isn’t coming off when I’m trying my hardest, so why bother trying my hardest anymore?’

I know I’m not trying my hardest right now.  I’m doing great with exercise – the month is almost half over (can you believe it?), and I’ve worked out 10 of the last 12 days.  It’s my eating that sometimes slip-slip-slips away.  I’m not surprised I didn’t lose any weight this week, because I overate a few times.  Once was after the picnic I went to on Sunday.  I ate well during the picnic, but much later on, after I came home, I ended up eating the two leftover pieces of the giant sandwich before going to bed.  One of the things I’ve been working on is not eating after 8pm, and eating 1/4 of a loaf of ciabatta (plus the contents) near midnight is a big fail.  Earlier in the week, I gassed up my car, and ended up buying junk at the mini-mart at the gas station.  It was a messed-up thought process:  I was really craving something sweet, and knew I wouldn’t be home for a few hours to satisfy the craving with some fruit, so I bought candy.  As I wandered the store, I thought, ‘You know what goes really well with something sweet?  Something salty.’  And I bought chips, too.  I bought probably between 600-800 calories of empty calories, and I ate it all, while thinking, ‘Eh, what does it matter, I’m pretty much still on a plateau anyway.’

Look, I know candy and chips and midnight eating isn’t the end of the world.  It’s not the calories from those instances that worry me, it’s my attitude.  I’ve become lazy with my eating; I’ve noticed my portions slowly get bigger; I’ve become accepting of this plateau.  I’d like to think that finally hitting 236 last week, over three months after hitting 237, would’ve been a huge motivator, but it wasn’t, and I’m not sure why, except to say that maybe it’s because this lazier attitude has taken root a little bit.  Eating off program twice in one week can easily lead to eating off program 3 times next week, or 4 times a few weeks down the road.

I can’t let that happen.  Even though I’m not gaining right now (thanks, probably, to all the exercise), if that lazy attitude continues, and grows, it will surely lead to gaining some (or all) of this weight back.

I have every opportunity right now to turn my attitude around.  I’m not working at the moment, so I can’t use long hours and work stress as an excuse.  I still have plenty of money on my Whole Foods gift card, so there’s no excuse to not have a fully stocked kitchen of healthy options.  And I have lots of wonderful family, friends, and readers who stop by this website every day for a little inspiration and to eavesdrop in my life.  Maybe, with my “Ellen” episode airing again, I’ll even have some new fans and readers that will choose to come back again and again looking for a little motivation.

It’s time to step up, David.  You’ve got more to lose – you’re still 16 pounds from your next goal. 

Today was a good day, health-wise.  Right before I wrote this blog, I spent 61 minutes on an exercise bike, and for the first 30, I was doing a series of different arm and shoulder exercises with a 15-pound weight in each hand.

Tomorrow’s gotta be a good day, too.

Keep it up, David.

9 Responses to Welcome! Plus a Chart Update and Some Honesty

  1. You’re awesome. That is all. Keep it up, David. 😀

  2. Floriana says:

    I am a new reader, but I’ve found you through Kelly’s blog. What a wonderful transformation. Congratulations. I can understand your feelings regarding the slowdown of your loss over the time. I’ve experienced something similar. Anyway, great blog. Keep it up 🙂

  3. Caron says:

    Inspiring. Don’t get too comfortable where you are if you still have goals to meet. 🙂

  4. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Your honesty is inspiring, but don’t be too hard on yourself. You’ve got your eyes set on the next goal and I know you can do it!! Keep it up, David!!!

  5. Tawny Marie says:

    I always come to your blog for inspiration. There are too many weight-loss blogs that are “sensationalized” and have no real-life experience coming through…Your journey shows the reality to weight loss… Keep it up! 🙂

  6. Karen says:

    I’m also having a blah phase in my “quest to lose the baby weight (again)”. I have lost 18.5 pounds in the past 3ish months (well, a bit more if you count the baby too), but lately I’m slipping back into the unhealthy snacks and convenient but not as low calorie vegetable-based meals. Well, that and not getting enough real exercise (“chasing kids” doesn’t get my heart rate up anymore). I’ve got 9.5 pounds to my next goal, and you’ve inspired me to try harder to really make it happen. Starting now. You keep me motivated! I’m wondering if there is such a thing as an assist for pounds lost (like in hockey), and how many of those you’d get credit for by sharing your journey with the world. A lot, I bet 🙂 Keep it up, David!!

  7. I’m with you, David…I was doing really well with low-carb so I could reduce my insulin intake, but lately I’ve used the move and othe stress as “reasons” to sabotage myself. Thanks for your honesty and inspiring me to recommit! 🙂

  8. Mary says:

    HI David, I DVR”D you on Ellen and had to sit through two of hubbys food network shows before I could have the television only to have it interrupted by Betty Ford being brought to Grand Rapids for her memorial…. so I settled for watching it on your site. I think hubby is still trying to figure out why I just didn’t watch it there in the first place…. 🙂 Anyhow, you were highlighted in my newsleter this week, Best of the Best (in the weight loss blogger community). Please stop by. Mary

Leave a Reply

