June Progress Report

It’s July 1… Welcome to the second half of 2011!  It’s hard to believe that six months have passed since we all rang in the new year.  Yikes – that also means that six months have passed since I posted that picture of me in a wetsuit Time sure does fly, doesn’t it?

It’s a new month, so before I dig into July and all it has to offer, it’s time to tally up my exercise facts and figures for June and see how I did.  And before I do that, though…

…a quick addendum to yesterday’s fresh fig post: I accidentally left out a few pieces of info that I wanted to include – specifically, some nutritional info!  In addition to all wonderful things I did say about fresh figs, I failed to mention that figs are great for you:  a single fig has between 30 and 50 calories, depending on its size, and they’re high in fiber and potassium, which help you feel full and help regulate your blood pressure, respectively.  They’re also a good source of calcium – actually, ounce for ounce, dried figs have about twice as much calcium as whole milk!  And if you happen to have access to a fig tree, pick some leaves too:  fig leaves aren’t a common food source here, but they’re popular in other parts of the world, and studies have shown them to have antidiabetic properties (!), with diabetics who eat them needing less insulin than their non-fig-leaf-eating counterparts.  That’s one kick-ass leaf!

OK – back to the progress report.  I did my first progress report 2 months ago, and it covered all of January through April, but it involved creating a chart and calculating statistics, and since I’m a huge nerd for charts and statistics, I’m now gonna do one every month (check out the May progress report here).

So, time for June’s.  Here’s my June calendar:

There’s lots of dots, and that’s a good thing:  each one represents a completed workout, and although it’s hard to see in the photo, next to each dot is my chicken scratch about what that workout was (there’s also other things in my calendar that I blurred out for the blog – y’all don’t need to know ALL my secrets!).  Here’s the low-down:

In total, I completed 22 workouts in 30 days, so I worked out 73% of the days in June, or an average of 5.5 times a week.  I aim to workout 6 days a week (and think 5 days a week is acceptable), so I was squarely on target in June.  Four of the 22 workouts were classes that Richard Simmons’ taught, and two of the workouts were boot camp classes.  And I’m really proud of the fact that of the 22 workouts, a solid 10 of them (almost half!) included a significant focus on weights and strength training.  It’s not quite as much as May (which had 13), but still waaay up from April, when it was just 4.

Now for my favorite part – the chart part!

  • January 2011:  Worked out 27 out 0f 31 days (87%), including 6 classes at Slimmons.
  • February 2011:  Worked out 23 out of 28 days (82%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes.
  • March 2011:  Worked out 25 out of 31 days (81%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 4 Boot Camp Classes.
  • April 2011:  Worked out 20 out of 30 days (66%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 3 Boot Camp Classes.
  • May 2011:  Worked out 24 out of 31 days (77%), including 3 classes at Slimmons and 0 Boot Camp Classes.
  • June 2011:  Worked out 22 out of 30 days (73%), including 4 classes at Slimmons and 2 Boot Camp Classes.
  • TOTALS:  For the first half of 2011, I worked out 141 out of 181 days (78%), including 25 classes at Slimmons and 12 Boot Camp Classes.

On to the second half of 2011!  How are you doing with your exercise?

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to June Progress Report

  1. Caron says:

    I am enjoying reading your blog. You are a great motivator for being healthy and exercise is my big problem area. Thanks for all the information. 🙂

  2. Your numbers are so impressive! And they’ve led be to calculate my own numbers…So far, in 2011, I have completed 6,035 minutes of cardio which means I have done over 100 hours of exercise. That’s really not a lot, but added up it, it has definitely had a positive impact on my heart! I’ve also done a fair amount of strength training including crunches, supermans, squats, mountain climbers, lunges and other things that are making my body healthier and stronger.

    Thanks for writing a post that encouraged me to take a look! I’m feeling good about the first half, and I’m ready to do even better in the second half.

    I only worked out with Richard twice (and with you once.) I plan on bringing up those numbers substantially in the second half of 2012!

    I know just wrote all about me, but keep it up, David!

    PS I love your calendar. Just saying.

    • David says:

      100 hours of exercise is fantastic, Kenz! I hadn’t occurred to me to count up minutes or hours, but maybe that’s something I’ll have to start doing. Keep it up, and talk soon! -D

  3. pagiola says:

    Hi David!
    Friday was my day of weigh myself, so I write to thank you for your great inspiration that I joined the gym (in the first place as you may remember) now 1 month later let me share with you the good news that I have lost 4 kilos which is like 8.8 pounds or so, and am trilled with the idea, and the fact because is real.
    thank you for your inspiration and sharing your changes in your life because that inspired me to make good and healthier choices in my life…

    keep it up David, and Paola!

Leave a Reply

