Foiled! Plus, My Week In Workouts

A few things on the docket today:

1) McDonald’s Update.  The update is that there is no update.  I have yet to hear back from McDonald’s about yesterday’s post, where I ran excerpts from their hilariously misguided email to me.  Who knows if I’ll hear back from them at all, but I can say that I did respond to the email, and included a link to that post.  My blog hits skyrocketed yesterday after that post went up (up over 200%!), so y’all seemed to enjoy the email as much as I did!

2) Foiled!  The plan last night was to hit the pool after work (which I mentioned at the end of this post), but the pool had other ideas.  Put on your gumshoe hats – can you tell what’s wrong with this picture?

The pool has no water!  And yes, I took the photo through a fence.  Apparently the pool closed the other day for “approximately 2 weeks” (according to the signage) for maintenance.

So I went to the gym instead.  Well, first I went home, to get gym clothes, and then I went to the gym.  It was a good workout, too:  5 minutes warm-up on the treadmill; 30 minutes of weights; and then 20 minutes on a bike, during which I read Wired magazine for the first time in my life, and I really enjoyed it.

Recapping my workout reminds me that it’s been a couple weeks since I’ve done a “My Week In Workouts” post, and there’s no better time than the present, so…

3) My Week in Workouts.  I’m gonna start on Wednesday, May 25, because I went running that night, and I’m realizing now I never blogged about it.  Oops, my bad.

Wed., 5/25:  I ran for 40 minutes non-stop!  This felt really good, especially since I’ve had trouble lately motivating myself to run (more on that in Bullet #3 of this post).  Here was my route:

I paid attention to my form, and this run seemed easier than past runs, which I’m interpreting as a sign that I’m getting more comfortable with the technique that my cousin Aaron taught me a few months back.

The total distance was 3.7 miles, and with a walking warm-up and cool-down, my total time on the streets was about 57 minutes.  Time to update my running chart!

  • 9/21/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 41 minutes.  MPH: 4.53
  • 9/27/10: Distance: 3.3 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 4.4
  • 10/5/10: Distance: 3.2 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 4.8
  • 10/12/10: Distance: 3.8 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 10/16/10: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 11/1/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 36 minutes.  MPH: 5.16
  • 11/6/10: Distance: 5.1 miles. Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.1
  • 11/14/10: Distance: 3.9 miles. Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.2
  • 11/28/10: Distance: 4.2 miles. Time: 46 minutes.  MPH: 5.47
  • 1/4/11: Distance: 3.0 miles. Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.3
  • 1/24/11: Distance: 4.4 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.86
  • 2/1/11: Distance: 1.9 miles.  Time: 20 minutes.  MPH: 5.7
  • 2/9/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 38 minutes.  MPH: 5.52
  • 2/16/11: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Time: 33 minutes.  MPH: 5.28
  • 2/27/11: Distance: 5 miles.  Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.0
  • 3/3/11: Distance: 5.4 miles.  Time: 57 minutes.  MPH: 5.13
  • 3/10/11: Distance: 3.0 miles.  Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.29
  • 4/10/11:  Distance: 4.5 miles.  Time: 47 minutes.  MPH: 5.74
  • 5/22/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 5.25
  • 5/25/11:  Distance: 3.7 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 5.55

Thurs., 5/26:  At the gym.  5 minutes warm-up on the treadmill, 30 minutes of weights; 20 minutes on recumbent bike.

Fri., 5/27:  At the gym.  5 minutes warm-up on the treadmill, 30 minutes of weights; 20 minutes on elliptical.  I vary my weights exercises so I never do the same thing two days in a row.

Sat., 5/28:  Richard Simmons’ class at Slimmons.  My friends Jim and Alison were in town, so they came along for their first ever Richard Simmons experience, and, naturally, they had a ball.  Here’s the three of us after class:

And with Richard:

Richard’s theme for the day was all ’90s music, and he began by playing the Macarena and then Ricky Martin, which is why he chose the cha-cha-themed outfit.  Here’s the video from that class:

I’m in the video, sprinkled throughout, but you can definitely see me on the left at around 1:05 in.

Sun., May 29:  Planned Rest Day.

Mon., May 30 (Memorial Day):  At the gym.  5 minutes warm-up on the treadmill, 30 minutes of weights; 20 minutes on… er, the non-recumbent bike.  What’s that one called?

Tues., May 31:  At the gym.  30 minutes of weights; 20 minutes on arc trainer.

Wed., June 1:  Unplanned Rest Day.  Read about it here.

Thurs., June 2:  Went to the gym because the pool was closed…. blah blah, you already read this earlier.

Now we’re all caught up!

Great workouts on 6 of the past 8 days?  Not too shabby!

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Foiled! Plus, My Week In Workouts

  1. Sara says:

    Look at you go with all those great workouts! Oh, and that bike is called a stationary bike. 🙂

    After watching Richard Simmons with you on Ellen, and I didn’t know he had a workout studio, if I ever get to go to LA then I want to go to Slimmons!! Looks like a lot of fun!

    P.S. I used way too many ! in my comment.

  2. Nurse Karen says:

    Oh My! You look SO slender and Healthy, David. FABULOUS!!! And the Crowd ROARS: Keep It Up David, whoooo-whoooo!!! 😀

  3. Pools will no water can be annoying, can’t they? Sigh..It definitely sounds like you made the best of it anyway. Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

