Banana Chips

A quick Friday post before the weekend comes!

When I filled up my water bottle this morning in the kitchen at my office, I was greeted by a new office temptation…

…BANANA CHIPS!

I love, Love, LOVE banana chips.  The very first job I ever had, when I was 14 years old, was at a fruit market, where I bagged groceries, mopped floors, and fetched carts from the parking lot.  Sometimes, on my lunch break, I would buy a container of banana chips, and that’d be my lunch.  I’d eat all of them.

The containers at that store didn’t have nutritional information on them, but even if they did, I’m not sure, as a 14-year-old, if I would have looked or paid attention.  I thought, like I think many people do, that banana chips were healthy.  They’re often displayed in stores near raisins and other dried fruits, and, hey!  They’re bananas!

But, contrary to popular belief, banana chips aren’t dried, like the raisins nearby.  More often then not, they’re dipped in sugar, honey, or some other sweetener, and then deep-fried.  Often in coconut oil.  No wonder they taste so good!

They are not very good for you.  As this article shows, 1/2 cup of banana chips (about 15 chips) is, nutritionally speaking, comparable to potato chips.  And this article says that a lot of the benefits that bananas provide, like potassium and vitamins, are lost in the cooking process, since frying involves oil at very high tempuratures.

You can expect banana chips to pack in around 150 calories and 8 to 10 grams of fat per ounce.  How many banana chips are in an ounce?  I dunno, but probably not many!

So I’m not going to eat any banana chips today.  I won’t do it.  Luckily for me, I just happened to bring into work today something that proved to be a very healthy alternative to banana chips…

…mmm, banana!

Keep it up, David!

10 Responses to Banana Chips

  1. Dacia says:

    Banana chips are yummy and I, too, indulged in them very frequently when I was younger. I had no idea they were fried but I knew they had sugar/honey added to them. I haven’t had them in a long time because I knew they were unhealthy but honestly I had no idea- they are even worse than I imagined. I am going to keep sticking with my fresh banana (maybe with some peanut butter) from now on. Thanks!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hmmm, I’ve got a dehydrator and maybe they can be dried (no oil or frying involved). So, I think I’ll try making some with sprinkles of cinnamon and see how they turn out.

    • David says:

      They can definitely be dehydrated! Let me know how they turn out! -D

      • Jennifer says:

        They turned out great, very crispy! I sliced slightly greenish bananas to 1/8 inch thickness then dehydrated at 135 degrees Fahrenheit for about 12 hours until all became crisp. Yum!! Definitely a healthier substitute than fried banana chips. And I bet they’d be great thrown into hot breakfast cereals, too.

      • David says:

        Sounds fantastic! Thanks for the update.

  3. Debbie says:

    Yeah…I work with people that keep bring in those veggie straws. They’re deep fried vegetables and people keep saying they’re healthy!

  4. Karen says:

    Thanks for sharing your good decision… Today was chock full of my own bad decisions, and I’m planning to be much better tomorrow. Thanks for inspiring!

  5. I like banana chips, but I don’t usually indulge in them unless I’m making a homemade trail mix then I measure it out in ounces. =0)

  6. They’re tasty, but definitely not worth the down side. Stick to the real thing!

  7. mamacitarulz says:

    I didn’t realize the commercial chips were fried until I started looking for recipes. I just made my first batch in the dehydrator, dipped a lemon juice wash first to keep them from turning too dark. What a great, powerful banana taste! They are a bit chewy, but my firefighter son loves them, so I’m sure I”ll indulge him again.

    And who would have thought…. my 1-yr-old heltie, Mac, is absolutely bonkers over them. He stood by me the whole time I was peeling the chips off the 6 trays, trying to anticipate any of the repetoire of tricks he has that I might be interested in rewarding. We even learned some new good behaviors. Quite a motivator for him.

Leave a Reply

