Abate Fetel, Bullet, and More

Four food-related topics today.  Let’s see what’s on the docket…

1) Abate Fetel Pear.  Remember this guy, that followed me home from Whole Foods the other day?

It’s an abate fetel pear, which is a pear variety that was developed in Italy hundreds of years ago by monks.  I had never heard of it or seen one before, and this morning, I ate it for the first time.  Well, first I cored it:

And then I cut it up:

And then I ate it.  It was fan-freakin’-tastic!

I followed the advice that I found on this blog post, and ate it while it was still a little bit firm.  My mom, who’s in town visiting right now, also had some of it, and we agreed: that is one tasty pear.  I’m not a good enough writer to describe how it differs from other pears, and I’m not even sure I could differentiate between pear varieties in a blind taste test anyway, but if you see one, try it.  You’ll enjoy it!

2) Bullet Radish.  Last week, I shared a new radish discovery: French radishes, which are more cylindrical than regular radishes.  They reminded me of bullets, so I snapped this pic:

Here’s one of the comments from that post, from my sister Laura:

Love the radish-bullet comparison photo! Maybe you could trim one end of the radishes to a little bit of a point to really hammer that comparison home?

I enjoy a good challenge, and have never really whittled before, so I pulled out my paring knife, stuck a piece of straw between my teeth, and went and sat under a tree by the swimmin’ hole to gave it a whirl.  After playing around with a couple practice radishes (and promptly eating them), I took a particularly bullet-esque radish, and did what I think is a nice little carving job on it.  What do you think?  Does it look even more like a bullet now?

I should try carving zucchini into little pistols, and create targets with concentric onion slices, and create a whole firearm-themed salad.  It’s kinda dorky, but anyone that knows me will confirm that I’m a dork and that’s exactly the sort of thing I’d spend my time doing!  At the very least, I could start carving soap or something – you know, so I already have a hobby I can focus on when I get sent to prison for being too handsome.

Wow.  I can’t believe I just typed that.

3) Lunch at Hugo’s.  My mom and I went to one of my favorite restaurants, Hugo’s, for lunch, where we met up with a couple of my friends from high school.  I love Hugo’s because they have a huge, varied menu, with a ton of healthy options, and lots of vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free stuff too.

They have a section of their menu that I don’t think I’ve ever ordered from before – the Create-A-Bowl page.  Basically, you pick 3 to 5 items from a list, and they throw them together in a bowl, and you can add a protein and a sauce if you’d like.  There’s literally thousands of variations, so you can switch it up every time and never ever get the same dish twice.  Here’s the menu page:

I created a bowl.  I ordered steamed veggies (which was broccoli, cauliflower, and zucchini), cooked beets (which were roasted), and sauteed leafy greens (which was kale and chard).  I asked them to add sliced turkey breast, and the Honey Chipotle sauce.  Here’s my lunch:

It was delicious.  Filling, loaded with veggies and protein, and a lot of flavors and textures.  And pretty healthy to boot!

4) Squash.  A couple of you asked, in the comments section, to share what I did with the butternut and delicata squash I peeled when I was experimenting with my new vegetable peeler.

The answer is quite boring.  I chopped up the delicata in chunks, and put it in a Tupperware.  Then I chopped the butternut into chunks, and that went into another Tupperware.  The next day, I brought the delicata Tupperware to work, and for lunch, I nuked it for about 5 minutes (I added about 1/4 cup of water, and covered it with paper towel, so it would steam).  Then I ate it.  The day after that, I did the same thing with the butternut.  If I had planned my lunches this week a little more than I did, I might have thought to throw in some herbs and/or spices, or maybe a touch of brown sugar or honey, but I didn’t, and I didn’t mind.  Most of the time, I eat pretty simply, and most of the time, my simple meals satisfy me completely.  Oh! I didn’t eat the butternut plain – I ended up using a packet of soy sauce to gussy it up.

Keep it up, David!

10 Responses to Abate Fetel, Bullet, and More

  1. Marcy Fabian says:

    Hi David! Mmmm love pears. Wish all restaurants did the Create-A-Plate,when I do go out and ask for different things to be added to my salads they always say that they have to ask the cook and make such a big deal about it.Wow good thing I’m creative at home.Glad your doing well. KeepItUpDavid ~*Smiles*~

  2. Cool radish post but now I want to know if you had bullets lying around or bought then for that comparison post 😉 hehhehe

    My wife and I can’t wait for the local farmers market to start up here so we can buy tons of new foods to have fun tasting and cooking with. Our local Jewel & Dominicks store have lame old flash frozen produce and Whole Foods is a haul from here.

  3. I love all your food talk (and nerd-ery) Hahaha. It does kinda look like a bullet. Now, what’s this you’re saying about eating simple food. I can’t–need spice, lots of flavor in my life!

  4. Elisha says:

    I would love to see an ammo themed veggie shot! I’m a big dork too!

    Was the delicata squash tasty? I’ve never had one before (or even seen one–we don’t get much variety ’round these parts).

  5. mary says:

    Hi David,
    Thanks for your inspiration…I’ve been searching for new fruits & veggies to try… I bought golden beets from whole foods last week..I never knew there was such thing.. I was only used to the red beets.. Anyway.. I boiled them up- peeled them up.. Chopped them, added chopped onions, salt, garlic, pepper, feta cheese & balsamic viniger.. it was delicious.. Keep it up David!

    • David says:

      I’ve never actually bought any beets before (that weren’t pre-sliced and jarred or canned), but I’ve been seeing golden beets at Whole Foods too. Your dish sounds great! -D

  6. Laura says:

    Woo Hoo, Spectacular bullet radishes!

  7. Janet says:

    Hi David,
    I really want to try delicata and butternut now. Mh, wonder whether it will be available here. Thanks for the inspiration again.
    And I wish there was Create-a-Plate here….damn, wrong country. 😉

Leave a Reply

