What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Thirteen

Well, folks, it’s been about a month and a half since we last played What’s In The RediSetGo?  You can thank my desire to buy a new RediSetGo as the reason for the hiatus – and I still haven’t purchased a new one yet  – but tonight I envisioned a meal that I didn’t want to make any other way.

So shut the blinds, lock your doors, and turn your cell phone to ‘vibrate’, because it’s go time.

If you want to squeeze in some practice rounds of What’s In The RediSetGo? before continuing, go to My Favorite Posts – the first twelve parts are archived there.

Are you ready?

WHAT’S IN THE REDISETGO?

A TUNA BURGER is in the RediSetGo!

I picked these up at Whole Foods the other day – I had never tried one before:

The back of the box says that each burger has 130 calories and 5 grams of fat.

Before I get into what I did with the burger, I have to switch gears for a while, as one of the other elements to the tuna burger meal needs some explaining.

Remember all the produce I picked up at Whole Foods the other day?  There was one vegetable I left out of the photo.  I could hardly believe it when I saw it at the store – it’s yet another type of radish!

I thought I must have surely found all the varieties of radishes out there.  Besides the common red radishes, I’ve blogged about Easter Egg radishes, and then I found black radishes and French radishes, and, the other day, I found these:

Anyone know what they are?

They’re called watermelon radishes.  I had never seen them or heard of them before, so, naturally, I bought two.  Here they are washed, and with their ends cut off:

This is when I really got intrigued, because every single other radish I’ve tried, whether is was red, purple, white, pink, or black, was still white in the center.  These, however, were a lovely shade of pinkish red!  I cut more slices because I was so curious:

Beautiful!  I was hesitant to eat a slice, because it could either taste delicious, like regular, easter egg, and french radishes, or be completely unedible in its raw state, like black radishes.  I closed my eyes and took a bite, and… delicious!  And the radish taste was more subtle than in regular radishes – these guys are winners!

OK – back to the tuna burger.

I wanted to make a really incredible (and healthy) sandwich, so I cut a whole-wheat pita (155 calories, 0 fat) in half and toasted it.  I added a handful of spinach, then put down the cooked tuna burger, then a few slices of radish:

The green sauce is actually a brand-new salad dressing that I bought for the first time:

I’ve been meaning to purchase this salad dressing for literally months.  It was recommended to me way back in October from my friend Penny, who told me about it in a comment she left on this blog post.  I love cilantro, and I haven’t been impressed with many of the salad dressings at Whole Foods, where I’ve been doing most of my shopping lately, so yesterday, while running errands, I finally picked up a bottle at Trader Joe’s.  Damn, I should picked it up months ago, because it’s delicious!  I might be my new favorite dressing, and I’ve only eaten it once!  Oh, and it’s 45 calories/3.5 grams of fat for 2 tablespoons, but I only used about 1, so we’ll say it had 25 calories/2 grams of fat.

Sidebar about Penny:  I know Penny because she’s one of my sister’s best friends.  I don’t see her that often, but I got to hang out with her for a few days back in December, and in addition to being smart, witty and fun to be around, she is one fit lady, which impresses me so much, as she’s the founder and owner of a booming cupcake bakery in Washington D.C. (check out Hello, Cupcake here).  She is literally around thousands of cupcakes every single day – that’d be a recipe for disaster if it were me.  I don’t know how she does it!

Anyway, I devoured the sandwich in a matter of minutes, if not less.  The cilantro dressing and spinach went great with the fish, and the radish added a little spice and crunch.  Including the pita, the sandwich added up to 7 grams of fat and about 320 calories.

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Thirteen

  1. PGK says:

    Who you callin’ “lady”? That dressing is A-MAZING, no? I keep 2 bottles in the fridge just in case, because I never want to be without!

  2. PGK says:

    OH, and also… I know you’re not a calorie counter, but one cupcake = approximately:

    40 minutes on the elliptical
    35 minutes on the arc trainer (thanks for the intro to the arc trainer, my new favorite machine, and a time saver – 5 minutes less to burn off the cupcake)
    45 minutes of jumprope/weights class

    That’s how I do it 🙂 My problem is not actually the cupcakes, but all the delicious components…and handful of nuts here, a couple of chocolate kisses there, a spoonful of frosting, a squeeze of the caramel bottle, and some “quality control” bites of cake. It really sneaks up on you if you don’t track it!

    • David says:

      I love that you’ve figured out how much you need to work out per cupcake – and not at all surprised! And yes, the dressing is UH-MAZE-ZING. Have a good day!

  3. Elisha says:

    Oh, tuna burgers sound so good! I’m so mad I don’t have a Whole Foods OR a Trader Joe’s around here. Boo!

    Also, I’m not a big radish fan, but it’s neat to see all the varieties you show us. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Have you ever tried a salmon burger? I made one for lunch yesterday (I actually made five of them because it was a big can of salmon-leftovers are in the fridge), and it was delicious!

    • David says:

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve had them at restaurants and bought them in stores, but never made them myself, like it sounds like you did… I do love ’em! What do you add to your patties?

  5. Yum! Looks great! I have to get to Whole Foods!

Leave a Reply

