BIG NEWS! Run! Chart Update!

I thought I’d start off today with some BIG NEWS, so big all capital letters are required!

My appearance with Richard Simmons on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” is getting rebroadcast next week!  Woo-hoo!  Tune in Wednesday, March 16, 2011 (go to www.ellentv.com to find out when it airs in your town).

Here’s what I want you to do: Tell someone that’s important in your life and is struggling with their weight – family member, friend, co-worker, neighbor, whoever – to tune in on Wednesday, or set their TiVo, or you set yours and invite them over, or met up at Sears and watch on 40 TVs at once (however you want to do it!) and then direct them here, to this blog.  Tell them to just check it out.  I’m not selling videos or supplements or pills -  I’m just proof that anyone with hard work, discipline, and the right attitude can make healthy changes and lose the weight.  I have good days and bad days, and I share it all here.

Tons of you have stepped forward, in emails, comments, Facebook posts, and tweets, and have very kindly shared what an inspiration I am.  I don’t tire of hearing it, even on days when I don’t feel it, mainly because my readers have become a huge source of inspiration for me.  All of you encourage me to keep it up, and I listen, and it helps.  So tell your friends to watch me on Ellen, and tell them how much you enjoy my blog (which hopefully is true, or you wouldn’t be here right now), and give them the URL (www.keepitupdavid.com), and point them towards my Facebook and Twitter pages, both of which are great ways to hear about new posts.  Are you clear about your assignment? Good!

Moving on….

Since Richard Simmons was in New Zealand all last week, I was really looking forward to taking his class last night at Slimmons.  I had every intention of going, too, but life got in the way.  And by ‘life’, I mean ‘my air conditioner was broken and the repairmen needed 10 hours to fix it.’  It’s a big mess that I won’t get into here, but when they showed up at 9am, it never occurred to me that they wouldn’t be finished in time for me to make it to Richard’s 6:30pm class.  They left at 7pm.  And they’re back this morning, to do more tests.  Good times.

After their departure at 7pm, I was already dressed to go exercise, but one thing led to another.  Oh, I should watch the news.  Oh, I’ll just send some tweets first.  Oh, maybe after “The Big Bang Theory.”  I’m sure you know how it is.  It wasn’t until after 9pm, when I caught myself absent-mindedly taking off my gym shoes, that I finally sat up on the couch and forced myself to go workout, and I was grumbling the whole time.

I decided to run.  Since my new running rules dictate heading to different locales other than my dreary neighborhood, I headed 10 minutes away to my old neighborhood on the edge of Burbank.  The streets are wide, empty, and lit, and I’m familiar with all of them.  While driving there, I decided on a route – a big loop that, when I drove it in my car, measured 1.5 miles.  My plan was to run it twice, and hopefully a third time:

I felt good during most of the first loop, but towards the end of it I was noticing my grumpy factor rising, and the fatique already setting in.  I pushed through it, and by the middle of the second loop I was feeling a lot better.  By the time I got to the end of the second loop, though, I was ready to stop, and so I did.  Two laps is 3 miles, and that’s a good run.  Time to update the chart:

  • 9/21/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 41 minutes.  MPH: 4.53
  • 9/27/10: Distance: 3.3 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 4.4
  • 10/5/10: Distance: 3.2 miles.  Time: 40 minutes.  MPH: 4.8
  • 10/12/10: Distance: 3.8 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 10/16/10: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Forgot to note time and MPH
  • 11/1/10: Distance: 3.1 miles.  Time: 36 minutes.  MPH: 5.16
  • 11/6/10: Distance: 5.1 miles. Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.1
  • 11/14/10: Distance: 3.9 miles. Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.2
  • 11/28/10: Distance: 4.2 miles. Time: 46 minutes.  MPH: 5.47
  • 1/4/11: Distance: 3.0 miles. Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.3
  • 1/24/11: Distance: 4.4 miles.  Time: 45 minutes.  MPH: 5.86
  • 2/1/11: Distance: 1.9 miles.  Time: 20 minutes.  MPH: 5.7
  • 2/9/11: Distance: 3.5 miles.  Time: 38 minutes.  MPH: 5.52
  • 2/16/11: Distance: 2.9 miles.  Time: 33 minutes.  MPH: 5.28
  • 2/27/11: Distance: 5 miles.  Time: 60 minutes.  MPH: 5.0
  • 3/3/11: Distance: 5.4 miles.  Time: 57 minutes.  MPH: 5.13
  • 3/10/11: Distance: 3.0 miles.  Time: 34 minutes.  MPH: 5.29

When I got back home, I jumped on the exercise bike with the intention of pedaling away for 15 minutes to supplement my run, but I ended up pedaling away for 30 minutes.  The bike in the little gym in my building has Tetris on it (well, it has a very-similar-but-different-enough-game that doesn’t infringe on copyright), so I played one game, and did really well, and that led to 30 minutes.  I made it on the leader board, but I’m the only one on the leader board (I guess it’s not very popular amongst my neighbors, or they all suck).

I’ll end with a weight loss chart update:  I weighed myself this morning, and DOWN 1 POUND! Awesome!  That puts my weight at 238 (18 pounds away from my next goal), and my weight loss at 164.  Here’s the chart:

KEEP IT UP, David!

3 Responses to BIG NEWS! Run! Chart Update!

  1. Leslie says:

    Fantastic! Keep it up, David!

  2. A good loss, you’re on tv again, and you got off the couch and got your workout in … sounds like a great week to me! Keep it up David!!! We’ve got this :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

