What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Eleven

Happy Groundhog Day!  You all know what happens on Groundhog Day, don’t you?  If the groundhog comes out of its burrow and sees a RediSetGo, then, unfortunately for all you folks that don’t live in Los Angeles, there 6 more weeks of winter.  And based on the terrible winter storm that’s currently tormenting 1/3 of the country, I’d think it’s safe to say Mr. (or Mrs.) Groundhog saw a RediSetGo when they popped their peepers out of the ground.  Was it my RediSetGo that the groundhog laid eyes on?  That, my friends, is a mystery…

Speaking of mysteries, are you ready to play a brand-spankin’-new installment of Whats in the RediSetGo? I hope you are, because I have a good one all ready and set to go.  It’s easy-peasy to play, so no need to go looking up the rules on the interweb.  And if you missed a prior installment, no big deal.  Go up and click on My Favorite Posts and scroll down – they’re all there for easy access and enjoyment.

So.  Take a moment to turn off your cell phones, notice the closest emergency exit, unwrap your hard candies now, and refrain from the taking of flash photography…  it’s time to play!

WHAT’S IN THE REDISETGO?

A SAVORY SPINACH PANCAKE is in the RediSetGo!

First, I must give credit where credit is due – I saw this recipe on Spabettie’s great blog.  Here’s the recipe she posted (which, as you’ll see, I modified a little bit).

Now here’s where things get very exciting (it is Groundhog Day, after all), because in order to make this meal, I had to use not one, but TWO informercial products!  I’ll give you a moment to pick your jaw up off the floor.

Ready to continue?  Me too.

Does anyone have a Magic Bullet?  I do!  Here it is:

If you’ve never heard of it before, it is, to use a tagline directly from their infomercial, a “personal, versatile, countertop magician.”  Anything you want to blend/chop/puree/gooify, you can do in the Magic Bullet.  Here’s the informercial – see for yourself:

My Magic Bullet was given to me by one of my best friends, Katherine, about a year and a half ago, before she hightailed it to Sweden, where she now lives with her hubby and baby and dog.  I’ve only used it a couple times before, mainly because I don’t have a need for blending countertop magic all that often, but it’s pretty handy and easy, especially if you’re not making vast quantities of anything.

Spabettie’s recipe only calls for 3 ingredients: spinach, eggs, and rice flour.  This is where the modifications began.  I don’t have rice flour, so I used regular all-purpose flour.  And since I’m eating for one, I decided to roughly 1/2 the recipe.  So I started off with 1 1/2 cups of fresh spinach, and 2 egg whites (instead of 3 whole eggs), which went into the Magic Bullet cup:

Since I didn’t use the egg yolks, I knew my version of this recipe would lack some of the flavor of Spabettie’s, so I added a few tablespoons of shallot and some paprika:

Then I plopped the spinach/egg/shallot/paprika mixture on the Magic Bullet power base, and a few seconds later, it was all blended:

I added in 1/3 cup of flour, as well as some black pepper and a touch of Mrs. Dash.  After a few more seconds of Magic Bullet action, my batter was pretty thick, so I added about 2 tablespoons of water.  Then a few more seconds in the Magic Bullet, and my batter was ready to go:

Geez, that’s a fantastic color, don’t you think?

Because the RediSetGo’s cooking surface isn’t all that large, I had to make each pancake individually, but that was fine, because I only had enough batter for three of them anyway, and each one only took about 2 minutes to cook.

I ate the first pancake almost immediately after it was finished, all by itself, because I was so curious.  It was good!  It was light and spongy, like I like my pancakes, and a little on the bland side – maybe shoulda added a bit more paprika.   The other two pancakes, though, because the bread in a delicious breakfast sandwich.  Between them, I put 1 egg white (which I quickly nuked in the microwave), and sliced tomato, cucumber, and scallion.  It was gooood:

I can’t wait to make these again!  And thanks, Spabettie, for the great idea!

Oh, and the rest of my breakfast was a pear and an apple.

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Eleven

  1. spabettie says:

    awesome!! I am eating my lunch as I read this… a tofurkey lettuce and cheese on spinach pancake as bread!! :)

    so happy you liked them! have a fabulous afternoon!

    -Kristina

  2. Leslie says:

    I love these David… and I love infomercial products :)

    Have you ever used fresh spinach in a smoothie! Yummo!

  3. Yum! Those look fabulous :)

  4. This is something I never would have considered making, but now, of course, I have to try it. Mmmmm…

  5. Jim says:

    OMG – that looks so delicious. I will make it!

  6. Heather Kaye says:

    That color and consistency looks like the stuff they would drop on people’s heads in “You Can’t Do That on Television” when someone would say “I don’t know.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

