What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Ten

The new year hasn’t really begun yet, because no one has had a chance to play What’s In the RediSetGo! That’s changing right now.

A lot of new readers have stopped by since the last installment of What’s In the RediSetGo, but don’t you worry.  There’s no complicated instruction manual, no unfolding booklet filled with naked Swedes pointing at how to assemble furniture.  It’s really quite easy to play, as you will soon see.  I’m not psychic, but I have a hunch that once you learn how to play, you’ll want to go back to the archives and play all the previous installments.  Well, maybe I’m a little psychic, because in anticipation of this, I recently compiled all the previous installments for your convenience.  Just go up and click on “My Favorite Posts,” then scroll down.  You can’t miss ‘em.  The very first installment (click here to read) includes the back story on how I fell in love with the RediSetGo, so you can check that out if you’re curious.

Why am I babbling so much?  Let’s play!  Here we go:

WHAT’S IN THE REDISETGO?

A VEGGIE BURGER is in the RediSetGo!

Veggie burgers are one of my all-time favorite quick meal options.  This one is a MorningStar Farms Garden Veggie Patty:

I love MorningStar, and this patty is pretty healthy – only 110 calories and 3.5 grams of fat.  They also can be pretty cheap.  I like to stock up when they’re on sale, and this box was $4 for 4 patties (although I forgot to notice the original price).  They’re also easy to prepare – you can throw ‘em on a grill, you can nuke ‘em and have them ready in about 90 seconds, and every so often I nuke one for 30 seconds, just so it’s a little thawed, and then slice it into strips and stir-fry it with some veggies.  This time, though, I really wanted a burger.  It took about 4-5 minutes to cook in the RediSetGo – a few minutes longer than in the microwave, but it’s worth it, because the RediSetGo is able to put a little bit of a sear on the patty, so it’s not as soggy as it would be post-microwave.

For a bun, I turned to one of my favorite products, Oroweat Sandwich Thins:

They’re thin pieces of bread, already sliced in half, and they make a great burger bun.  You can buy them in 100% whole wheat, and each one is 100 calories and 1 gram of fat.

I assembled my burger, adding spinach, alfalfa sprouts, and mustard, and here’s the end result, with a side of celery sticks:

Burger craving?  Satisfied.  Guilt?  None.

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to What’s In The RediSetGo? Part Ten

  1. Tracy says:

    One of my favorites. Have you tried their Black Bean burgers? I little 2% shredded cheese & some salsa on it, Ole!

  2. The MSF Garden Veggie Burgers are one of my favorite go-to quick meals, too. I don’t have an RSG, so I throw mine on my Foreman grill or nuke them.

    BTW, I’m so glad to see someone else uses the term “nuke” for cooking in the microwave. Most of my friends make fun of me when I say it. :lol:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

