Watch

I’m not really a huge fan of watches.  Typically, my watches don’t last long before getting lost or broken.  When I was younger, my dad bought me a couple watches, as presents, and despite my best intentions to not lose or break them, they always ended up lost or broken.  One broke after I dropped it in my high school parking lot and immediately stepped on it with my very next step.  Reading that sentence, it might seem that I intended to break the watch, but no – it was an accident.  I swear.

Once I got my first cell phone in college, my need for a watch greatly diminished.  Cell phones have clocks, and since I always had my cell phone on me, my wrist went unadorned with a timepiece.  And it stayed that way for about a decade, up until last year.  In the spring of 2009, I decided I needed to have a watch for work.  My responsibilities were growing, and I wanted to be able to take a peek at a clock quickly, without stopping the 3 other things that I was doing to fish my phone out of my pocket.

So one day, while at the Big & Tall store I no longer need to shop at, I picked up this little number.  I think it cost $20.  Maybe $25.

I wore it regularly for the next year or so, but it’s been sitting on my dresser, unused, since I resigned from that job last June.  A few weeks ago, when I was packing for my holiday travels, I threw it in my suitcase – why not?  It’s light and small.  I ended up being glad I did – when I was in Mexico last week, I couldn’t use my cell phone, so the watch came in handy.

But as I wore it in Mexico, something seemed different, and for the first few days I couldn’t put my finger on it.  Midway through the trip, though, I had an epiphany while getting ready for the day.  The watch felt different because…  my wrist had shrunk!  Up until June, I was wearing the watch using the fourth hole on the watchband – but now, about six months later, the fourth hole is way too loose, and I can wear it using the sixth hole!

I’ve lost weight in my wrists!  I didn’t think that was possible, but I’ve been proven wrong.  By my own wrists.  I found a ruler and measured the distance between the 4th and 6th holes.  It’s about half an inch:

Wrists smaller by half an inch?

Keep it up, David!

You can read about how my weight loss has affected other clothes I wear by clicking here, or here, or here.

2 Responses to Watch

  1. Karen says:

    I love that you’re sharing these “small” successes in addition to the really big ones! There are so many facets that make your accomplishments so amazing and inspiring and motivating to all your readers! Keep it up!!

  2. Pat says:

    What are you doing Monday?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

