Better Late Than Never: July Weigh-In and Workout Progress Report

I weigh in once a month. I was in Michigan when the new month started, so this month’s weigh-in didn’t happen until I came back, on the 6th. Then, I wanted to write and publish my vacation posts (read them here and here), so that explains why this post is a little delayed. But… better late than never!

Here’s what the scale said when I stepped on it:

scale-245-pounds

245 pounds. Same as last month. Let’s mark it on my weight loss chart:

weight-loss-chart-july-closeup

Super happy with this weigh-in. I was thinking I would be up a little bit, since I had a hip injury that sidelined me for over a week, and that resulted in some not-great food choices and, of course, no exercise.

But I didn’t gain. I stayed the same. That means I kicked ass on my vacation, which makes me feel really good. It’s not news that I kicked ass on my vacation – I exercised every single day and considered every single thing I ate – but it’s nice to see it confirmed on my weight loss chart.

Oh, and a weight of 245 means I’ve lost and kept off 157 pounds! Here’s my whole weight loss chart:

weight-loss-chart-july

Moving on… to my Monthly Workout Progress Report.  Here’s my June Calendar:

workout-calendar-june

Each dot represents a workout. Some dots have shapes around them, which means I took a class. Some dots have a “W” above them, which means I lifted weights. You’ll notice a significant lack of dots during the third week – thanks to the aforementioned hip injury – but other than that, I did pretty well.

I worked out 18 days out of 30 during the month of June, including three Slimmons classes (all led by Anne, as Richard is still absent), and five other classes (including a bunch that I took through ClassPass). I lifted weights during eight of those workouts.

In addition, I also logged a lot of cardio during those workouts – take a look at the chart:

Cardio-miles-June

1,007.6 – 966.5 = A total of 41.1 miles of biking, running, elliptical-ing, etc. I put a box around the running total when I crossed the 1,000 mile mark… 1,000 miles is a lot of miles!  Plus, thanks to all the biking I did on vacation, I now have a new cardio milestone to write about… look for that in an upcoming post.

It’s July 11th, which means we’re officially 11 days into the second half of 2014. Time for a Halfway-Through-The-Year Progress Report!

So far in 2014, I’ve worked out 146 out of 180 days – that’s a 81% success rate.  How does that compare to other years?

I’m way ahead of where I was at this point in 2013, because that was the year I had a surgery that kept me off my feet for well over a month. By this time in 2013, I had worked out 87 out of 181 days – a 48% success rate.

I’m also slightly ahead of where I was in 2011 – but just by five workouts. For those first six months, I had worked out 141 out of 181 days – a 78% success rate.

But I was really hauling ass in 2012. For those first six months, I had completed 155 workouts in 182 days – that’s a 85% success rate. I’m only 9 workouts behind where I was in 2012 – and that’s cool with me!

I love that I keep track of these things. My inner nerd jumps for joy when I crunch these numbers! My outer nerd jumps for joy too.  I’m a nerd through-and-through – and as these facts and figures show, a very active, fit nerd!

Keep it up, David!

10 Responses to Better Late Than Never: July Weigh-In and Workout Progress Report

  1. Charlotte Cavaluzzi says:

    Good job David for maintaining during a vacation month. Keep up the good work. Please pass along any information you might get concerning Richard. Hoping he is okay.

  2. Carol Hoerl says:

    Good job,David! Wondering if there’s been any news from Richard Simmons.

  3. Amanda says:

    Glad to hear the Mackinac fudge didn’t stick to your waistline! Must’ve been all that biking!

  4. Susan says:

    So impressed, David. You are rocking it. YAY YOU!!!!!!!!!

  5. Karen P says:

    Congrats on your continued success. So glad you are logging everything. Data is KING. Take care and I enjoyed your Michigan trip. I used to vacation in the UP every summer. It brought back tons of memories.

    Graphs RULE… just saying. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

