A Workout Milestone on Day Two

A little while ago I completed my second workout since being sidelined with a hip injury, and it ended up resulting in a momentous workout milestone. Very exciting!

One of the things I do is keep track of all the miles I complete doing any form of cardio: running, biking, elliptical, hiking, etc. I began last summer, when I was getting back into shape after healing from my surgery that was brought on by a cancer scare. My initial goal was to complete a virtual run from Los Angeles to Las Vegas – a distance of 274 miles. I reached that goal about three months later, creating some of my favorite blog posts during the process, but even after I reached my goal, I continued logging my miles, because:

  1. It had become a habit.
  2. It was fun.

Since then, I’ve checked in regarding my cardio miles a couple times. I posted when I had “made it” to Utah, and again to Colorado, and started including my mileage count in my monthly progress reports.

Thanks to my forced exercise hiatus, I had forgotten my current mileage count, and it was the last thing on my mind when I went to the little gym in my building and hopped on the recumbent bike. After last night’s upper body weightlifting workout, the plan was to reintroduce a little cardio. My goal was 25 minutes on the bike, at an easy-to-moderate level, and play it by ear. I would stop immediately if there was any pain or discomfort in my hip. I set the bike at level 9 (levels 12-14 are the norm for me) and stayed at that level the whole time.

Well, after 25 minutes, I felt great. No pain, no discomfort. I decided to try for 10 more minutes.

After 35 minutes, I felt great. No pain, no discomfort. Why not go for 10 more?

After 45 minutes, I still felt great. I called it a day. According to the bike, I had gone 11.2 miles.

bike-display-11-miles

When I went to update my workout calendar, I realized that those 11.2 miles pushed me over the edge:

1000-miles-on-workout-calendar

OVER 1,000 MILES! Woo-hoo!

One thousand is a big number. I’m in the quadruple digits! 1,000 miles is a long way. In the Plain White Ts song “Hey There Delilah,” the dude sings that he’d walk 1,000 miles to get to Delilah. And, even more famously, The Proclaimers sang in “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” that “I would walk five hundred miles/And I would walk five hundred more/Just to be the man who walked a thousand miles/To fall down at your door.”  (Just typing those lyrics takes me back to seventh grade, when all the girls in my grade went cuckoo-crazy for “Benny & Joon,” the movie that popularized that song.)

The Proclaimers and Plain Whites T’s can suck it, because while they just sang about it, I’ve done it. I’ve walked and ran and biked 1,000 miles, and I did it in slightly under a year!

I’m going to hold off on showing any maps for the time being, and save them for my next milestone, which should happen pretty soon, as I’m only about 35 miles away from reaching it.  In the grand scheme of things, 35 miles is not very far at all!

Keep it up, David!

Just a heads up: There may be one more post this week (not sure yet), but I’ll likely take next week off from blogging, as I’ll be doing some traveling with my family in Michigan. I’ll most likely post updates on Twitter, so follow me if you don’t already! Wishing everyone a safe, happy and healthy Fourth of July!

One Response to A Workout Milestone on Day Two

  1. Nurse Karen says:

    Whoot-Whoot! Such Good news to read! ^_^ Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

