Hopefully Healed and Back at the Gym

Yesterday was a big day – my first day back at the gym after a forced week-long hiatus thanks to my hip!

 

David-Crunch-Burbank

Man, I couldn’t wait to start exercising again. But I’ve been careful – you can never be too careful when it comes to injuries – and played it safe.

My hip was a major problem for most of last week. While it rendered me in immobile and in constant pain for Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, things really started improving on Wednesday. By that point, the pain was greatly diminished and had become intermittent, only flaring up during more strenuous movements, like when I transitioned from sitting to standing. But Friday the pain was more or less gone, except for occasional moments. I barely felt a thing on Saturday or Sunday, although I did the right thing and stayed off my feet as much as I could. This meant continuing to postpone exercise, which bugged me to no end, even though I knew it was the right thing to do.

On Monday, I was ready to start moving again, and I decided to hit the gym. The caveat was this: NO leg exercise whatsoever. I stuck to upper body weights, all seated. Except for walking around the gym, I didn’t put any weight on my legs whatsoever.

I started with a 10-minute warm-up using a rope machine, where you sit on a bench and pull a never-ending rope, like you’re a pirate on a pirate ship. It works your entire upper body. The machine has different resistance levels, and a couple different rope settings, so I switched it up halfway through. I burned 200 calories in 10 minutes, and pulled 2,000+ feet of rope. A good start!

Then came weights: Chest presses, lat pulldowns, military presses, seated rows, chest flies, and tricep dips, in that order. Maybe one more that I’m forgetting. I did 4 sets of 15 reps for most of those. All on machines that kept me seated (as opposed to using free weights).

38 minutes of weights + 10 minute warm-up = a 48-minute workout. The was sufficient for my first time back.

My leg and hip felt fine throughout the workout, and it still does. The next step is to introduce some light, low-impact cardio (although not much) and maybe do some more upper body work to round out that workout, and see how I feel after that.

Feeling confident and feeling ready for more. Best of all, not feeling any pain.

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Hopefully Healed and Back at the Gym

  1. Nurse Karen says:

    Yippee-Ki-Yay! xo

  2. Nina Fitzgerald says:

    Yeah!!! Glad you are feeling better.

  3. Dana says:

    So glad you are feeling better!

  4. David says:

    Thanks, ladies! Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

