What’s in the Crockpot? Part Eleven

How about we all start our weeks with a game? How about a game involving a crockpot? How about a game where you guess what’s in a crockpot? Sounds good to me!

WHAT’S IN THE CROCKPOT?

silver-crockpot

BALSAMIC-MAPLE BRUSSELS SPROUTS are in the crockpot!

Slow-Cooker-Maple-Brussels-Sprouts

They may not be the prettiest dish, but crockpots are really good at leeching the color out of everything. They are tasty, though. Isn’t that the most important thing? They’re easy to make, too.

RELATED CONTENT:  See My Other ‘What’s in the Crockpot’ Recipes at the Bottom of My Recipes Page!

Start with a bunch of Brussels sprouts. I used nearly two pounds of them, courtesy the LA Salad Company. These were on the small side. I started by cutting them all in half. (If they’re bigger, maybe cut them in quarters.)

halved-brussels-sprouts

They all went into the crockpot. Then, I added about 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.

balsamic-vinegar-brussels-sprouts

After that, I added about 2 tablespoons maple syrup.

maple-syrup-brussels-sprouts

Why YES! That IS a packet of syrup from IHOP! Aren’t you observant! It was the perfect amount for this recipe, and I just happened to find it in the back of my fridge. It saved me from having to buy a whole bottle of syrup, so I’m thankful for that!

Next, I added some Canadian bacon – about 3 ounces (which was 5 slices), which I sliced into thin strips.

sliced-canadian-bacon

Sprouts from Brussels, bacon from Canada… a truly international dish!

I added a few cranks of fresh cracked pepper, and about 1/2 cup of water, just to aid in the creation of a glaze. Then I turned the crockpot to Low and came back 3 or 4 hours later.  You already saw the finished result, but here’s what it looked like in the bowl.

Slow-Cooker-Maple-Brussels-Sprouts-Bowl

Again – not the prettiest dish, but I sure did enjoy eating it! The bacon added a salty note, and the balsamic-maple glaze nicely walked the fence between acidic and sweet. The glaze was a little thin, so I would serve these in a bowl rather than a plate, so you could spoon some of the sauce from the bottom over the sprouts. And the sprouts themselves were super tender. I’ve never slow-cooked Brussels spouts before, but it’s something I’d certainly do again!

Keep it up, David!

 

 

4 Responses to What’s in the Crockpot? Part Eleven

  1. Deb says:

    Oh this looks good! I really wish my bf liked these little green guys because it’d be nice to have them as a side with dinner one night.

    • David says:

      Maybe this recipe will be the one that caused the bf to think differently!

      • Deb says:

        Haha I wish I could say it would, but he is the pickiest eater I have ever know. He refuses to eat couscous because he says it’s nasty but he loves pasta. Can’t convince him is pasta too… Lol. I can feed him certain root veggies and mushrooms if I make the pieces small enough though. :-P

  2. scalesdownlacesup says:

    That looks amazing! I love brussels sprouts and am always looking for new ways to cook them. I’m definitely going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

