Easter Veggie Ribbons with Ginger and Rosemary

On Easter, I headed out to my aunt and uncle’s place for lunch with them and my cousins. My aunt Annie had already said that she was making a ham and some sort of potato dish, so I offered to bring a veggie-based side dish, and she took me up on my offer. Here’s what I came up with: Easter Veggie Ribbons with Ginger and Rosemary!

What’s a veggie ribbon? It’s a vegetable sliced into ribbons by your vegetable peeler.

zucchini-sliced-into-ribbons

Here’s a zucchini that’s been ribbonified. First, I cut off the ends and peeled off the skin, which is in the upper right of the photo. This stuff ended up in the trash. Then, I just ran the peeler down the length of the zucchini again and again, creating super-thin, long slices of zucchini (upper left). I kept going, on all sides, until I got to the core of the zucchini, which is loaded with seeds. I opted not to slice the seedy part into ribbons, just because they weren’t as pretty, although you totally could if you wanted to.

I did this with three zucchini, three yellow crookneck squash, and five carrots, and all made for perfect ribbons:

ribbons-zucchini-carrot-yellow-squash-peeler

Because carrots don’t have seeds, you can keep peeling away until the carrot’s just a nub! I still the six zucchini and crookneck cores in my fridge. It seemed wasteful to toss them, but I don’t know what I’ll do with them. Any ideas?

Once everything was peeled, I had a big colorful bowl full of ribbons:

tupperware-veggie-ribbons-zucchini-squash-carrot

Then, I minced, as finely as I good, the following things:

  • 1 large shallot
  • 4 gloves of garlic
  • a hunk of fresh ginger the size of two garlic cloves
  • the needles from about 8-10 twigs of fresh rosemary

minced-shallot-ginger-garlic-rosemary

These got thrown together into a smaller container. I did all the prep work at home, but did the actual cooking in Annie and Dean’s kitchen. Once I arrived at their house, I slicked a big skillet with Pam, and dumped in half of the ginger/rosemary mixture.  (I knew I had a ton of veggies, and ended up cooking it all in two batches)  I also added a couple tablespoons of water, just so they could more easily get stirred around the pan.

garlic-shallot-ginger-rosemary-saute-skillet

After a minute or two, I added half of the veggie ribbons, and started stirring it up, so every ribbon would get some flavor from the aromatics.

veggie-ribbons-skillet

The veggies don’t need to saute for long. Since they’re so thin, they cook quickly – maybe 6-8 minutes, depending on how many you put in the skillet. You want them to be tender throughout, and then they’re done!

RELATED CONTENT: Lots more veggie recipes on my Recipes page!

Once one batch was cooked, I transferred them to a bowl, and did the same thing again with the second half. The veggies shrink a little with cooking, so once the second batch was cooked, I added back in the first batch, and tossed it all together.

The finished product:

Easter-Veggie-Ribbons-Plate

They were super flavorful, and I love how it almost looks like pasta! The ginger was the dominant flavor, but the shallot and garlic added a nice kick, and the rosemary made it smell great and added some freshness.  That’s Annie’s ham in the back, and a small portion of her cheesy potato casserole. My cousin Macrae made a delicious spinach salad with toasted almonds and dried cranberries, but I forgot to grab a photo of that.

Easter-Veggie-Ribbons-Close-Up

I went back for seconds of the ribbons, because they’re completely guilt-free. I also got seconds of the ham, because it was so good, and I hadn’t had glazed, spiral-cut ham in a long time. I probably ate too much ham, and I know I ate too much Easter chocolate later, but oh well. That happens sometimes on holidays. I knew it could happen, so I had a really good Saturday and Monday, and, before going to Dean and Annie’s, I spent 45 minutes at the gym burning 960 calories on the Arc Trainer.

Keep it up, David!

 

2 Responses to Easter Veggie Ribbons with Ginger and Rosemary

  1. I am so impressed with these ribbons! They are colorful and you really put some wonderful aromatics with them. And may I say, your dicing skills are superb. You have patience in the kitchen. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

