Two Gym Visits… and 2,500 Legos In Between

On Friday evening, after work, I headed to the gym to complete my second-to-last workout of the week. I lifted weights, focusing on lower body, and did a ton of squats, walking lunges, leg presses, and more. I enjoy Friday nights at the gym, because it’s not very crowded at all, and it was a good workout. With that workout under my belt, I only had my upper body weightlifting workout left, and I love that feeling of being so close to reaching my weekly goal.

The rest of my Friday night involved embracing my inner nerd (who am I kidding? I’m a nerd on the outside, too), by doing something that combined two loves from earlier in my life. One of the big childhood obsessions were Legos. I had tons of them, and at one point, had built an entire town on a folding table in the basement. Then, when I was in high school and college, I became a die-hard, hard-core fan of “The Simpsons.” For a couple years in college, I wrote a weekly “Simpsons”-based newsletter, which grew to have over 5,000 subscribers all over the planet. (For the record, I’m still of a fan of the show, and it will always be one of my favorite shows of all time, although I think the quality of new episodes has really gone downhill.)

So when Lego released a set where you could built “The Simpsons” house, I went to the mall and bought it. It sat, unopened, in my living room for nearly a month, because I had made it a reward: I couldn’t open it until I finished my taxes, cleaned out my closet, and did a few things around the house that had long been on my to-do list. I crossed the last item off that list earlier in the week, so Friday night became… Lego night!

The set had over 2,500 pieces, and the instructions were in three books that totaled 235 pages. I started at 8:30pm on Friday night, and finished 10.5 hours later, at 7am. That’s right, I pulled an all-nighter to play with Legos, and it was totally worth it. Check out this house!

Simpsons-Lego-House-Front-Exterior

The house has 8 rooms, and it’s hinged, so it opens like a dollhouse to access them. The roof pieces also lift off:

Simpsons-Lego-House-Top-View

The detail is amazing. There’s furniture, artwork, cookware in the kitchen, and hot and cold knobs in the shower. The garage has a full set of tools…

Simpsons-Lego-House-Garage-Tools

…while Bart has a Radioactive Man comic on the desk in his bedroom:

Simpsons-Lego-House-Bart-Bedroom

They even included Maggie’s crib!

Simpsons-Lego-House-Maggie-Crib

I took all these photos during the construction process. In fact, I live-tweeted my progress all through the night, and posted over 50 photos, so if you wanna see more, head over to my Twitter feed!

RELATED CONTENT: See the Lego reward I gave myself after a grueling physical accomplishment!

After I finished building it, I spent another hour playing with it and taking some photos, and by that point (8am), I realized that I should probably get at least a little sleep. The problem, however, was that I was still all riled up and giddy from the Lego build. I knew I could try to sleep, but it wouldn’t work. So I figured the next best thing was to put all that energy to good use… at the gym. Time to finish my final workout of the week!

I arrived at the gym about 14 hours after I had last left it, and it felt bizarre to be back there, on a new day, without having gotten any sleep. But the workout was fantastic: bench presses, shoulder presses, rows, flys… all sorts of upper body strength-training moves, plus a 10-minute warm up on the elliptical.

The plan worked. I walked into my place dead tired, and after peeling off my gym clothes, I basically fell into bed, with an episode from “The Simpsons” season 2 DVD on in the background. It worked out well that I bookended an activity that so mentally and emotionally satisfying with workouts that were so physically satisfying. I may not have gotten any sleep that night, but every part of me felt alive and taken care of.

Keep it up, David!

Stay tuned for my next post: the veggie side dish that I contributed to my family’s big Easter dinner!

2 Responses to Two Gym Visits… and 2,500 Legos In Between

  1. Sarah Van Houten says:

    Great Pictures!!

  2. Mom says:

    Wow, what fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

