Purple Cauliflower Mash

Yesterday’s post may have been about orange cauliflower, but that’s not the only unusual cauliflower variety out there. Check out my… purple cauliflower (!), and what I did with it!

purple-cauliflower

What a beauty!

Since I left the orange cauliflower whole, I decided to do the exact opposite with this one, and make a healthy cauliflower mash. Diligent readers may have noticed that I already have a Cauliflower Mash recipe on my Recipes page, and, well, now there are two. They’re definitely different!

I cut the cauliflower into florets, trying my best to keep them all roughly the same size, so they’d cook evenly. They all went into a steamer on my stove.

purple-cauliflower-steamer

It took about 15-20 minutes to steam the entire head of florets, which barely all fit. About halfway through, I tossed in 6 cloves of garlic and a clove-sized chunk of fresh ginger, so they could steam a little, too.

When the cauliflower was tender all the way through, I transferred it all into my Ninja blender. I made sure to put the garlic and cloves down at the bottom, so there was no chance they’d miss getting pulverized by the blades. Cooking the cauliflower turned it an even deeper shade of purple!

purple-cauliflower-parmesan-cheese-blender

To the blender I added:

  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese (which you can see above)
  • 1 tablespoon of Earth Balance (a better-for-you “vegan buttery” spread, according to the package)
  • 3/4 cup skim milk (how much milk you add depends on how thick or thin you want your mash. I suggest you start with a little, and go from there. You can always add more, but you can’t take it out! I started with 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup more after blending for a while, to thin it out a little more.)

I blended it on high until it was smooth, then piled some up on a plate:

purple-cauliflower-mash-plate

Looked incredible to me! With an unbelievable color! It wasn’t completely smooth, but I didn’t add much butter, and the milk was skim, so it was as smooth and creamy as it was going to get. And it didn’t matter much, because 10 seconds later, I added this:

plate-tuna-steak-purple-cauliflower-mash-carrots-

That’s a seared albacore tuna steak on the left, with a little Trader Joe’s Low-Fat Cilantro Salad Dressing as a sauce, and baby carrots, seared in a hot skillet with Pam, on the right. A pinch more Parmesan as a garnish. And it was delicious. The mash was infused with the garlic and ginger, which were great additions. I gobbled this plate up like it was my last meal.

I love these little baby carrots, which the LA Salad Company sells peeled and with a little bit of the greens still there. I’ve never had carrots like these in my home before – I’ve only had them at weddings and at fancy restaurants!

baby-carrot-purple-cauliflower-mash

What an fantastic lunch! Creamy, crunchy, tender and flavorful, all in the same bite.

tuna-steak-carrot-purple-cauliflower-mash-on-fork

Dessert was a sumo tangerine. These guys are amazing – easy to peel, juicy, and big. They’re also rare and expensive – about $3 apiece – so I only bought one, as a treat.

sumo-tangerine-segment

Sumo tangerines have a fascinating history that, oddly enough, is full of mystery and intrigue. I blogged about them a few years ago – check out that post here.

There was one more surprise waiting for me when I did the dishes: The cauliflower had turned the steaming water bright blue!

Blue-water-after-steaming-purple-cauliflower

This post brings the Keep It Up, David Vegetable Week to a close. What vegetables will I enjoy next? What vegetables have you enjoying lately?

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Purple Cauliflower Mash

  1. Jeff Dinkin says:

    You could drink that blue water.

  2. David, I think we live in the same general area. Where in the world did you find that purple cauliflower. Whole Foods? It’s gorgeous. Almost too pretty to eat. :-) And I think you could dye some Easter eggs in that water! Or tie-dye a shirt. LOL!

    • David says:

      I found it at Sprouts – the orange one, too. I’ve seen them at Whole Foods in years past, but I haven’t been to Whole Foods in a while, so don’t know if they have them this year or not!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

