A Week of Veggies, Veggies, Veggies

Keep reading for my Baked Green Bean Fries recipe. And click here to enter my Siggi’s yogurt giveaway – the deadline is tonight! (Friday, 3/21/14 at 11:59pm)

It’s a proven, scientific fact – free vegetables taste better. So I’ve been eating like a king all week long, because my friend Andie, who works for the Los Angeles Salad Company, gifted me with a ton of extra veggies that she had brought home for a work project.  One day, I halved 2 pounds of brussels sprouts…

raw-brussels-sprouts-on-tray

…and roasted them until they were tender and delicious:

roasted-brussels-sprouts

I spritzed the sprouts with non-fat cooking spray, sprinkled on some Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb, and cooked them for about 35 minutes in a 400-degree oven.

The next day, I did nearly the same thing with green beans. I tossed these in 2 teaspoons of olive oil before sprinkling on the Mrs. Dash and lining them up on the tray:

raw-green-beans-on-tray

These also went in a 400-degree oven for about 30 minutes. They came out looking like this:

roasted-green-beans

I still had lots of green beans left, so the next day, I tried something else:

Baked Green Bean Fries!

There’s recipes galore online for green bean fries, so I read a bunch, and pieced together my own recipe.

First, I set up a breading station. I put 1/2 cup of egg whites in one bowl, and in the second bowl, my breading mixture:

  • 3/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon lemon pepper (a salt-free spice blend)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

breading-stations-green-beans

I did three or four beans at a time. With my left hand, I dunked them in the egg whites. With my right hand, I dunked them in the breading and patted it on. Then, I lined them up on the baking tray. (I’ve seen this “wet hand, dry hand” breading technique on Food Network more times than I can count.)

baked-green-beans-on-tray

They went into a 450-degree oven for about 20 minutes, until the bread crumbs were golden brown. Check these out!

baked-green-beans-mustard

They’re crispy and crunchy and fantastic with a little spicy mustard for dipping. They definitely don’t taste guilt-free, but they are!

Baked-green-bean-close-up

And I still have green beans to spare!

I have a couple more veggie recipes that I’ll be sharing in upcoming posts. One is for a hearty crockpot dish, and the other is… well, I don’t know what to say about it except that it’s the most exciting thing to come out of my oven in a long time.

Want more veggie ideas? Check out my Recipes page.

And be like me and eat your veggies all weekend long!

Keep it up, David!

One Response to A Week of Veggies, Veggies, Veggies

  1. Catherine says:

    I LOVE Brussel Sprouts! And you’ve inspired me to try roasting green beans and maybe making green bean fries.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

