Pop Quiz!

POP QUIZ: Why did I buy these gloves?

grip-glove

  • A) To take hot items out of the oven
  • B) To prevent leaving fingerprints during my next murderous rampage
  • C) Because they’re all the rage in Milan
  • D) None of the above

The correct answer is… D) None of the above!

I bought them for my upcoming stair climb race in Las Vegas. They have a “MicroFinish” on the palm side that provides “ultimate grip,” and they will come in handy. I’ve been working on using the handrails during my practice climbs, and when my hands start getting sweaty (which happens quickly when you’re climbing stairs), they will help me firmly grip the rail.

Some stair climb racers wear weightlifting gloves, and others wear football player gloves, but these were a cheap option that still served the same purpose. They’re work gloves, made by a company called Mechanix, that I picked up at the auto parts store down the block. With tax, they cost $7.18.

I wore them Tuesday night when I returned to the Aon Center, where I completed three 51-story practice climbs (just like last week). They work well on the handrails, but even with my new gear, it didn’t feel like a great workout. I can’t pinpoint it – I just felt off. And that’s okay. I did get a nice sunset photo from the 55th floor, though!

sunset-los-angeles-aon-center

I’m glad I got to try my new gloves out in a stairwell. That will be my final stairs workout before the climb on Sunday. I’ll keep exercising, don’t you worry, with weightlifting and other cardio, but I’m going to give stairs a 5-day break, so I’m fresh and excited in the Stratosphere stairs.

This will be my last post before the Scale the Strat race on Sunday. I’ll have a race recap up as soon as I can, but I’m staying in Vegas until Monday, so I’m not sure when that will happen. As I calculated in my last post, my goal time for Scale the Strat is 14 minutes, 51 seconds, and I’m feeling good about beating that goal.

Wish me luck!

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Pop Quiz!

  1. roseisrose says:

    David, have a great stair climb, you are going to ROCK IT!!! Have fun in LV, can’t wait to hear the recap!

  2. Nurse Karen says:

    You are doing the stair climb for a worthy cause, so just enjoy the event. We always love you, no matter what!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

