Kale Chips…in the MICROWAVE?!

This post is about food, and I need to fess up and say that my eating hasn’t been great lately. I’ve been exercising like a madman, and while I want to be capitalizing on the calories I’m burning to lose a few pounds, it’s not happening. But I’m not beating myself up over it. Just trying to make better choices and do the best I can.

Moving on…

A few years ago, I had a little kale chip kick. I was making them left and right. Kale chips, which are simply kale leaves that are roasted until they’re crispy like chips (see how to make them here), are very satisfying and super healthy. But between preheating the oven and then actually roasting them, they took a long time to make – nearly an hour – which was a long time for a snack I could polish off within minutes.

A few weeks ago, I had “Home & Family” on in the background when I heard celebrity chef Rocco DiSpirito say that kale chips could be made in the microwave in a couple of minutes. I dropped everything and my ears perked up, like Scooby Doo. What?!?

RELATED CONTENT: Watch My Appearance on “Home & Family”!

His recipe is simple, and it’s on the “Home & Family” website here, along with a bunch of other recipes from his new book. He makes the microwave kale chips as part of his “Super Popcorn-Kale Crumble” but I leave out the popcorn part. (His “Garlicky Shrimp and Spinach in a Foil Pouch” is also on my list to try, but I haven’t done it yet.)

Recently, a friend gifted me with two bunches of kale, so I jumped at the chance to make microwave kale chips. Seriously, if your friends don’t give you vegetables, you need to find new friends!

two-types-of-kale-lacinato

On the left is a variety called Lacinato Kale. On the right is a variety called… um… kale. It’s just regular kale that you find at the store by the sign that says “Kale.” I didn’t know which would make a better chip, so I made both.

First step: cut out the thick woody stems, leaving just the leaves. I did this first with the regular Kale…

kale-without-stems

…and then the Lacinato:

lacinato-kale-without-stems

All the de-stemmed kale went into a colander, and I gave it a good wash, and then I used a Spin ‘N Stor bag to dry it. I spread a single layer of leaves on a microwavable plate, spritzed them with a quick hit of Pam, and then tossed on some Garlic and Herb Mrs. Dash.

kale-on-plate

Per Rocco’s instructions, I nuked the leaves for a minute, then took them out and flipped them all over. They were limp and moist at this point. After flipping them, Rocco says they go back in for another minute or so to crisp up, but it took two minutes in my microwave. After those two minutes are up, the kale chips have shrunk considerably, but they’re crispy and delicate and delicious.

microwave-kale-chips

So which kind of kale made the better chip?

Kale-chips

I couldn’t decide. They were both fantastic! I ate the whole plate within seconds, and ended up making and eating two more plates over the course of the next hour (and I still have some raw kale left to make some more!).

A completely guilt-free snack, made in a fraction of the time that kale chips normally take. You can’t beat that!

Keep it up, David.

16 Responses to Kale Chips…in the MICROWAVE?!

  1. I always fail at making roasted kale chips. Always parts that are burnt along with parts that aren’t crispy. I’m definitely going to try this though!!

  2. New follower here. Cannot wait to read about your journey. http://www.findingcrystal.com

  3. Carol Hoerl says:

    Funny I found your post about kale today. I saw Ina Garten roasting kale on her show & have been thinking about it. On my way to the store & going to get this super food & try kale roasted for a good,guilt free snack. I’m back on WW & know I have to get back to eating more greens.
    Good luck with your struggle,David

  4. Tavi says:

    That is one awesome friend! He sounds like the coolest person in the whole wide world. You must do amazing things like drive him to the airport at ungodly hours!

  5. Catherine says:

    I love Kale chips. I make them all the time and usually end up eating the whole cookie sheet pan in about 10 mins. Thankfully, my dog LOVES Kale stems!

  6. Nurse Karen says:

    Thank you for posting this, as I tried several times to make kale chips in the oven, and as one poster remarked, burned them, or they were too bitter & wilted to be enjoyed. Going to try this version as I love raw kale in salads. As for Tavi & you: thanks for the laugh, you two are **so** cute!!! [and you are both "The Coolest"!] xoxo~

  7. Bev Jull says:

    Can’t wait to try . . . I’ve always planned to try Kale chips . . . this sounds so much easier . . . and – this summer I am going to grow Kale too!

  8. What’s up, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this article. It was funny.
    Keep on posting!

  9. sherry says:

    i have made kale chips in mico..alot …rip off the leaves cut or tear them up like a who bunch they melt down to nothing,, sprinkle itatlian season,.. taco seas,.. shake Cinnamon. ..olive oil
    add some kind of shake cheese even fake flavour mix it all together on the plate.. lay a couple of paper towels on top ..
    put in micro..for 6 minutes…. they 6 more..check it and it will look
    a lot less on the plate …prob need a few more min to get it crunchy

    keep checking it will eventually get crispy…u can almost smell it..
    a large bunch will prob take about that 15 min..u must check it tho

    they wow so gooood

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

