My Anniversary Tutu!

It’s my anniversary! Four years ago this week, I accepted Richard Simmons’ offer to help me lose weight. He asked me to come to my second exercise class at Slimmons and meet with him afterwards, at his house in the Hollywood Hills. And I did. There, we talked about my weight (I was 402 pounds) and the health problems I might face if I didn’t take action. Richard asked me to start logging everything I ate and drank, and I began emailing him those lists. And that’s how it all began. Here’s Richard and me from 2010:

David-Garcia-heavy-Richard-Simmons-2010

And here’s me and Richard from last night – 4 years later!

David-Garcia-Richard-Simmons-2014

Richard lent me his tutu for the picture, but then afterwards, he gave it to me as a gift! How did he know neon green was my color?!

Four years! That’s a long time! That’s how long it took me to get through high school. The length of the President’s term of office. The time between two summer (or winter) Olympic games. The number of years between “Jurassic Park” and its film sequel, “The Lost World: Jurassic Park.”

RELATED CONTENT: Watch My “Home & Family” Interview For More On How Richard Simmons Helped Me

I know I’ve done something special and amazing with this weight loss, but I recently stumbled across a statistic about weight loss maintenance that was pretty eye-opening. According to the Dr. Oz website, only 15-20% of people who lose weight keep it off for more than two years. I’ve never been part of that minority before. I can think of three times in my life where I’ve lost substantial amounts of weight (at least 40 pounds), plus more attempts where I wasn’t even that successful, but I always regained.

Now, for the first time, I’m in the minority, and I have been for a couple years. Damn, that feels good!

The tutu wasn’t the only gift I got at Slimmons last night. My friend Joanne brought a laundry basket full of navel oranges she harvested from the tree in her backyard. I took home about a dozen. Nothing like super fresh, super local produce!

bowl-of-oranges-with-leaves

I’ve already eaten one… juicy!

Now, on to my fifth year of taking care of myself and eating right and staying active. It hasn’t always been easy, but the good stuff in life doesn’t always come easy (or however that saying goes).

In honor of my anniversary and because my last post was particularly difficult to write, this might be my last post for this week. Wishing all of you health and happiness and don’t forget to exercise!

Keep it up, David!

14 Responses to My Anniversary Tutu!

  1. Nurse Karen says:

    I was there…I thought you were awesome then, and now: you are even more awesome! Dude: Rockin’ that neon tutu !!! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!! xoxoxo~

  2. Jen says:

    Congratulations, David! You look gorgeous with or without the tutu. Happy birthday!

  3. Amy G says:

    Congratulations! And keep it up David!

  4. marlene says:

    I saw you a few weeks ago on home and family tv. I subscribed to your updates Keep it up David. I saw Richard, I’m ashamed to say 22 years ago after birth if 2nd child I weighed then about 180 on 5’1 body. Today I’ve had another child 16 in Feb I weigh now 225. This weeks post touched me as I read about depression. I have been diagnosed “bipolar depressed”. The medicines are monsterous. Its like a scale, do I treat bipolar and all night binging with meds or try to lose weight unmedicated. Thank you for your honesty , good and bad IE life , UPS downs. Congratulations on 4 years of commitment and success Marlene

    • David says:

      Thank you, Marlene! It certainly isn’t easy, but it sounds like you’re aware of your challenges and that’s a huge step. Keep doing something healthy every day and KEEP IT UP!

  5. Molly says:

    Congratulations David on 4 yrs of being healthy! What an accomplishment. Thanks for your honesty.

  6. Dana says:

    Congratulations David!!! You accomplishment is such an inspiration! One day I am hoping to be part of the group that has not only lost the weight but kept it off.

  7. Robin G. says:

    David congratulations on being a leaner and healthier you! We can all only aspire to have your motivation and strength to keep the weight off and continue with your success. You have been blessed to have a friend like Richard that cared enought to help you through all of this weight loss. Depression like your weight loss takes work as well. Rely on help from your friends and family during that time to help bring you up from the doldrums. It too shall pass! Keep it up and keep smiling!

  8. SarahGarcia77@yahoo.com says:

    Hilarious. Can you wear it in our next family picture?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

