My First Weigh-In of 2014!

Happy New Year! I hope everyone has a fantastic 2014. Make it the best year yet!

It’s the first of the month, which means it’s time for my monthly weigh-in. I only have a weigh-in once a month because I’ve learned the hard way that if I weight myself more frequently, I start obsessing over numbers, which leads to undue stress and bad behaviors. Conversely, if I weigh myself less frequently, I start to lose accountability, and that also leads to no good. It was a trial and error process for me to settle on my once-a-month regimen, but it’s been working for me, so I’m gonna stick to it.

By the way, I hide my scale under my bed when I’m not using it (which is most of the time) - out of sight, out of mind!

I weighed myself this morning, and here’s my weight loss chart with the results:

weight-loss-chart-january-close-up

UP TWO POUNDS. Given that it’s been the holidays, I’m pleased that it’s not a couple pounds more.

A weight of 241 means that I’ve lost and kept off 261 pounds.

If you’re new here, what you’re looking at is my weight loss chart. It’s a chart I created early on in this process, as a way to track my progress and remind myself of my accomplishments. My weight loss chart is now on its fifth page, and it hangs in my closet, where I see it every day when I’m getting dressed.

weight-loss-chart-january-angle

I love looking over my chart and seeing how far I’ve come. My starting weight, in the upper left corner, reads 402 pounds, and I’m so proud that I’m nowhere near that number anymore!

The producers at “Home & Family” loved the chart so much that they asked me to take it down off the wall and bring it with me when I went to tape my interview the other day! They set it up on a wall in their studio and filmed it, but we never got around to discussing it during the interview, so that footage never saw the light of day. Oh well. That happens.

Even though my chart is such in integral part of this process, I sometimes forget the magnitude of what it represents.

Weight-loss-chart-January-straight-on

In a few short weeks, I’ll be celebrating my 4-year anniversary of meeting Richard Simmons and starting on this weight loss journey. Every single pound  – including the ones I’ve gained and re-lost – is accounted for on this chart. I can’t wait to keep updating it!

Keep it up, David!

PS – I got a lot of great comments and emails from new readers yesterday, and I appreciate all of them. I’m touched that so many folks took the time and energy to reach out. I’m going to try to respond to as many as I can, but it may take a little while! Bear with me!

10 Responses to My First Weigh-In of 2014!

  1. Charlotte Cavaluzzi says:

    You are a great inspiration for me. I am going to hang up a weight loss chart like you did. Perhaps having that in front of me daily I will be as successful as you are. Thank you so much and keep up the good work!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. hotbodhidden says:

    Amazing! So inspirational! Good for you!

  3. Absolutely amazing! Good job at losing and keeping off 261lbs! That’s incredible! I also love your weight loss chart! A lot of people will not include the small gains and are too afraid to reflect upon them. It’s an inspiration that you are able to and you can continue to say ‘lets move on’.
    Congrats on your journey!!

  4. TC says:

    Just love your posts and read them all the time. they are an inspiration.

  5. Hello David my name is Deena Hester and I was so captivated with your story this morning on Home and Family that when you said email me or go to my site I couldn’t resist !! I too have struggled with my weight all my live recently I went through the procedure called the gastric sleave. I’m excited and have a long road ahead of me including a “big” lifestyle change! I’m proud of you and you look awesome keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

