Behind-The-Scenes Photos From “Home & Family”

Are you visiting for the first time? Welcome! If I were a betting man, I’d say you saw me on “Home & Family” and it means a lot that you’re checking out my website. There’s lots of good stuff in the Header at the top of the page – things like my Photo Gallery, my Recipes page, and a collection of My Favorite Posts. And if you like what you’re seeing and reading, consider subscribing! You can get new posts via email by signing up at the top of the right-side column. You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter, so do that, too!

If you haven’t seen my “Home & Family” interview yet – don’t worry. The full episode will soon be available online, and I’ll share a link when that happens.

In the meantime… I got lots of behind-the-scenes photos from my day at “Home & Family”…like this one, with the show’s hosts, Mark Steines and Cristina Ferrare.

mark-steines-cristina-ferrare-david-garcia

I met Mark and Cristina separately before the show, and they’re both really warm and friendly. They had been briefed about my story, and they both expressed excitement about my interview. I was nervous, so that helped put me at ease.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me go back a little bit. “Home & Family” is a daily 2-hour lifestyle show filmed on the backlot of Universal Studios, alongside the fake cities and towns where they’ve shot all sorts of movies and TV shows over the years. They don’t tape it on a soundstage, they tape it in a custom-built house complete with kitchen, garage, back patio, and so on. What’s kinda funny is that the house is at the end of a street in the Old West part of the backlot, so you have to drive by saloons and general stores to get there. Here I am arriving a little before 10am:

Arriving-at-home-and-family-set

My friend Tavi came with me (he took most of these photos), and after I changed into the clothes I was going to wear on-air, we wandered around the Old West sets and explored a little bit.

david-tavi-backlot

david-backlot-boots

I also spent a few minutes in the hair and make-up room before they whisked me into the house. First order of business: a quick little photo shoot, so they had an “after” picture for a “before and after” graphic. Here I am posing for the camera:

photo-shoot

Then I spent some time talking with Peter, my producer, about what to expect during the interview. It turns out that I was gonna be in a lot more of the show than I was anticipating! Peter confirmed that my interview was going to run 2 segments, instead of one. WOW! I’d be sitting on the couch at the beginning of the show, along with the other guests, where the hosts would introduce me and tease my interview later in the show. DOUBLE-WOW! I also got to sit in on two cooking segments, tasting food at the bar, and later on, they added me to the final two segments of the show, where I gave one more weight loss tip! HOLY CRAP, that’s a total of 7 segments!

When it got closer to showtime, they put on my microphone, and had me sit on the couch along with the other guests. Tavi took this photo a few minutes before we started rolling:

before-home-and-family-taping

Kim and Anne-Marie, two other guests, are on the left, and I’m chatting with Duff Goldman, who had a big hit Food Network show called “Ace of Cakes” a few years ago that I used to watch all the time. He’s a very nice, very likeable guy, and I got a picture with him after:

duff-goldman-david-garcia

First, a picture with Giada De Laurentiis, now a picture with Duff Goldman? I’m making my way through the Food Network roster! (Tyler Florence, you can be next, pretty please.)

Another guest on the show was Kym Douglas, who I met (briefly) years ago when I was working on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” where she’s a frequent guest that gives Ellen health and beauty tips and usually ends up smearing guacamole or Pepto-Bismol all over her face in the process. Kym is a quick and funny lady with a one-of-a-kind-energy, and it was quite fun to reconnect with her. We got a photo together, and she ran it through an app on her phone that made us look even better!

kym-douglas-davd-garcia

Once the show started taping, things moved really quickly. The first segment, which had all the introductions, was over in the blink of an eye. Then, everyone repositioned themselves to the kitchen for Duff’s segment, where he demonstrated how to make chocolate lava cakes. They wanted me to sit in for this segment, and I was happy to oblige. This photo is from the commercial break:

sideline-duff-segment

Three people, including Cristina herself, expressed concern that I would be present in a segment about cake, but I told them that I can enjoy a taste of anything. It was sweet that they were concerned about knocking me off the wagon, but I wasn’t about to turn down the chance to try a recipe from an internationally-renowned cake baker! For the record, I had 2 bites of cake, and a few of the oranges and walnuts that were used as garnish.

My interview was conducted on the back patio of the house, and they moved me there a segment early to make sure I was ready and comfortable. Tavi caught me deep in thought, trying to remember all the things I wanted to say:

mentally-preparing-for-segment

Even though this wasn’t my first talk show, I was still nervous, but those nerves went away as soon as the camera started rolling. The tone of this show is very conversational, and I’m certainly comfortable talking about my own experiences, so the seconds flew by. It’s a little bit odd having a conversation with four cameras pointed at you, but I think I did a pretty good job.

laughing-during-segment

Here’s everyone reacting to a “before” photo that they put up on a monitor:

reactions-to-before-picture

And before I knew it, both segments were over! Mark and Cristina posed for that photo at the top of this post, and both thanked me for being so open and honest. Mark seemed particularly intrigued by my journey, and said that he would’ve loved to have had a couple more segments to chat with me about it, and that’s a pretty awesome compliment.

It was close to 3:30 by the time I left, and it was an incredibly fun day. Plus, on the way out, Tavi and I drove by Jaws Lake, which is right around the corner from the “Home & Family” house, and we saw the killer beast attack a tram full of tourists taking the theme park studio tour:

universal-studios-jaws-attack

I’m nervous and excited to see myself on TV. I haven’t seen the end result yet, but my TiVo is set! At the end of the day, I’m honored and humbled that my story is one that others want to share on TV. I hope you all have a chance to watch “Home & Family.” Let me know what you think!

Keep it up, David!

17 Responses to Behind-The-Scenes Photos From “Home & Family”

  1. Sugar Lee says:

    Looking forward to seeing this.

  2. SarahGarcia77@yahoo.com says:

    You looked very handsome! I didn’t get it taped :( Make sure to send out the link when you get it.

  3. Alice Merrills says:

    I think it is wonderful how much you have lost. My son went to Iraq and he broke both ankles since than he has gain so much weight and I am affraid he will become diabetic he has 3 young boys and he can’t play with them since he has gain so much weight, can you suggest what he can do since he can’t exercise at all. Please help him I am so worried about him.

    • David says:

      Thanks, Alice! Sorry to hear about your son, and I’m thankful for his service. It sounds like your son has to buckle down and get his eating under control. I’m going to focus on this subject in my next blog post – which I’ll publish on Friday 1/3/14, so hopefully that will help – come back and check it out. Also, there’s LOTS of exercise your son can do while sitting down and not putting stress on his ankles. There are DVDs out there with great workouts you can complete while sitting. Richard Simmons made one called “Sit Tight” – check it out here. If you google “Exercises while sitting” you get tons of results to explore.
      Hope this is helpful! Happy new year, -David

  4. Robin Guerra says:

    You are exactly right! I saw your motivational segments on Home & Family this New Years Eve. Congrats on your accomplishments. It’s made me want to be a better me for my 50th next year. Looking forward to starting my journey with reading your blog for motivation to a healthier lifestyle.

    • David says:

      I’m flattered that you’re motivated by my story! Thanks for the kind words, and good luck to you. You’re going to rock it in 2014! KEEP IT UP!

  5. Stephanie says:

    Hi David, my name is Stephanie, and I need some encouragement with losing the weight, I don,t have anyone to work out with, my husband won,t help. I have no friends either. I did at one time but we moved a lot. So now that I,m back were we live. The friends don,t want to have anything to do with me because I,ve put a lot of weight on. I can,t afford to go to gym or anything like that and my husband won,t let me. I,ve become depressed and I,ve asked my husband to let me go get some help but he doesn,t want to spend money on the visits or the medication either. I need help in losing the weight. I,m a diabetic . I take medication and I take leant us at night before bed. I just started taking victoza which is helping. But I feel I need someone to talk with me and keep me accountable. Would you please ,please be that person to help me be accountable with losing the weight. I struggle with the exercise part.thanks hope to hear from you. Sincerely Stephanie

    • Gerard Gizzi DDS says:

      Dear Stephanie, Please try your local YMCA they have great programs for diabetes as well as help for people who can not afford the regular membership fees. Don’t let anything stop you, make up your mind and do it, David did.
      Sincerely, Gerard

    • Stephanie says:

      Thank you for answering me back. I,m exercising everyday. I just would like someone to do it with and to encourage me when I get down. I will look up above at everything . I watched you on the show. I have lost 18lbs so far. You are an inspiration to us all thank you for your blog.

      • David says:

        Thanks, Dr. Gerard, for providing Stephanie with wonderful advice. I have some advice too! But first, congrats, Stephanie, on your 18 pound loss – that’s incredible! Keep it up! Regarding your situation: I’m sorry to read you have an unsupportive husband. That must be difficult. Perhaps you should look around for fitness clubs or groups you can join that could help you meet like-minded friends. There are sites like Meetup.com that have all sorts of groups, maybe there’s an exercise club near you. Malls often have mall-walking groups, if that’s your thing. Or, start your own group! Post flyers online and in your community (like the library) and designate a time and place (like a local park) and start meeting there to exercise. Making friends that are supportive will be very helpful, and I know you can do it. And visit here as often as you like, and share what’s going on. You can also find my email address on my Contact page if you’d prefer to reach out privately. You say you’re working out every day… that’s WONDERFUL! Keep it up, Stephanie! Best, David

  6. Linda says:

    David, I enjoyed listening to your story on the Home and Family show. I’m sure it will be beneficial to many. Most of us have a hard time keeping weight off. By the way, love your hair. Just enough gray to make it perfect. :-)

  7. Tessa Romine says:

    David, thank you for sharing your story, been considering a gastric bypass to help me now that I’ve seen your story I’m having second thoughts….just not exactly sure where to start….any pointers other than a diary of what I eat? tessaromine@yahoo.com

    • David says:

      Hi Tessa! You’re not the only one to ask about how to get started… and in my next post (I’m working on it now), I’m going to share how I started, and how you can too! Come back here tomorrow (Friday, 1/3), and read all about it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

