December Weigh-In: My Lowest Weight in Over a Year!

Sometimes I don’t look forward to weigh-ins when they happen right after a trip, but that wasn’t the case this weekend. I got home on Saturday evening from 4 days in Colorado, but had a hunch that my weigh-in on Sunday morning would go well. And it did! Check it out!

scale-reading-239-pounds

I’ve been trying for months to get back into the 230s, and I made it! That’s a 4-pound loss for the month of November. (I always disregard the tenths on my scale – one tactic to prevent me from obsessing over numbers.) Time to update my weight loss chart!

weight-loss-chart-update

My hunch was thanks to a very healthy Thanksgiving week. As you saw in my last post, I stuck to my Thanksgiving pledge and didn’t pig out on Turkey Day. I ate responsibly the other days, too, teaming up with my sister to make egg white scrambles and green smoothies. We ate out once, at California Pizza Kitchen, and I chose their Thai crunch salad, dressing on the side.

Plus, I got three great workouts in during my time in Colorado. I mentioned a 3.2-mile run + push-ups and sit-ups in my last post, but that wasn’t all. In addition, I went on a 9.8 mile bike ride one day, and on another day, my sister and I swam 2,800 yards at her gym. It wasn’t the longest swimming workout I’ve had, but it was one of the toughest, because we sprinted 1/4 of the yards. Exhausting.

I know I didn’t lose 4 pounds over the course of my trip, though. Even though I had a one kinda crummy week, I worked really hard throughout the rest of November. I worked out a ton (24 out of 30 days), and competed in two stair climb races (the CF Climb and Hike the Halo).

I’m elated. I haven’t weighed less than 240 since September of last year – over a year ago! Here’s my weight loss chart since then, with my finger pointing at my September 2012 weight of 238:

weight-loss-chart-one-year

My weight of 239 puts my total weight loss at 163 pounds! And I’ve lost 18 pounds in the past 7 months.

My next goal is to keep going and get down to 232, which was my all-time low from two years ago. That probably won’t happen by my next weigh-in on January 1st, but it’s something to strive for. Beyond 232 is, quite literally, uncharted territory for me!

This weigh-in features one more milestone – I had to add a new page to my weight loss chart! I’m up to five pages. Can’t wait to keep filling up that fifth page!

Weight-loss-chart-new-page

Keep it up, David!

16 Responses to December Weigh-In: My Lowest Weight in Over a Year!

  1. Congrats on the weight loss–especially during the holiday!! :)

  2. Chris Geraci says:

    Woo hoo!!

    Chris Geraci
    StairMaster

  3. Val Scott says:

    Congratulations! Couldn’t be happier for you.

  4. SarahGarcia77@yahoo.com says:

    Congrats!!
    It was great seeing you. You look great

  5. I am making one of those charts! You are Fantastic!

  6. Mom says:

    Congratulations, Son. You looked great in CO. Miss you.
    Love, Mom

  7. Hi David, thank you for sharing your story and pictures of your weight loss journey. I find so much inspiration and hope that if permanent weight loss is possible for you, it’s possible for me, too.

  8. afoodieslife says:

    I just stumbled upon your site. Looking forward to catching up. Congrats on all of your hard work.

  9. Michael Garcia says:

    Let me add to the “great job, keep it up David” sentiment. Your mother and I remain in awe of your achievement. Love, DAD

  10. Pat says:

    Nice Number! Miss you.
    Love, Uncle Sticky

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

