Final Preparations Before the Big Race… AGAIN.

On Saturday I’m competing in the CF Climb, a race up the stairwell of the Figueroa at Wilshire tower in downtown Los Angeles. It’s a charity event for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, and it’s the first stair climb race where I’ve given myself a very specific and challenging time-based goal.

Holy hell, I’m experiencing deja vu while writing this! It’s because I wrote a very similar post last week, before the Hike the Halo race. I’ve never done two stair climb races so close to each other! (Hike the Halo, by the way, went really well – read my recap here.)

Because Hike the Halo and the CF Climb are only 6 days apart, I had long planned to not do any stair workouts in between. I’d definitely workout, but I would lift weights and do other types of cardio. My reasoning was that I’d be climbing a ton of stairs just doing the events (over 3,000 between them), and I didn’t want to burn out.

That plan lasted… oh… about 36 hours. I went to the gym the very next night after Hike the Halo, and I gravitated towards the StairMaster. Just for my warm-up.

Like I explained in a post last week, I’ve been using the StairMaster a lot for my warm-ups, and challenging myself to climb as many floors as possible in 10 minutes. When I started, I could do 43. Slowly, I got myself up to 63.

On Monday, I figured I’d do another 10-minute climb. But then I had another idea. I’ve given myself a goal time for the CF Climb of 13 minutes and 11 seconds… So how many floors could I climb in 13:11 on the StairMaster?

That was a question that I really wanted to answer. And, on Monday night, the answer was… drum roll please…

StairMaster-76-floors

76 STORIES! And I burned 271 calories doing it!

A few days later, as I was walking into the gym, I started wondering if I could do more in 13:11. And wouldn’t you know it, I got on the StairMaster to figure that out. The results?

StairMaster-81-floors

81 STORIES! And 286 calories burned!

Seeing as how the Figueroa at Wilshire race is 51 stories, I’d say I’m ready. Well, that sentence deserves as asterisk, because StairMaster and actual stairs aren’t exactly the same. Stairs are definitely harder, because you’re lifting your entire body weight and you aren’t aided by a machine that can set and regulate your pace.

Fuck that asterisk. I AM READY.  If I can climb 81 stories in 13:11 on a machine, there’s an excellent chance I can climb 51 stories on real stairs.

There’s one slight change, though: The CF Climb in the Figueroa at Wilshire building is no longer 51 stories… it’s 54! The building didn’t somehow get taller. It’s that they got permission to end the race on the roof, as opposed to one of the top floors. Instead of 1,181 steps, the race will now have 1,245.

In the grand scheme of things, it’s no big deal, because I’m in great shape. Plus, I’ve already raced up two taller skyscrapers this year (race recaps are here and here). But I do need to amend my goal. I calculated my first goal by multiplying the number of floors by my goal pace, which is 15.5 seconds per floor. That gave me my goal of 13:11. Using that same math, my new goal for 54 stories is… 13 minutes, 57 seconds.

I can do that. And tomorrow, I WILL!

Stay tuned… my next post will be the CF Climb race recap!

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

PS – I nearly forgot! A big shout-out to all my amazing and generous donors, because without their contributions ($185 in total) to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, I wouldn’t be able to race. They are:

  • Chris and Ron R.
  • Laura G.
  • Linnea and Robert S.
  • Emily S.
  • Sarah V.H.
  • Annie and Dean F.
  • Joanne and Joe G.

THANK YOU!

6 Responses to Final Preparations Before the Big Race… AGAIN.

  1. Lannette Freeman says:

    Have Fun, and Good Luck! You still rock! Lol :)

  2. chrisgeraci says:

    You go! Proud of you!

  3. tommy coleman says:

    Get it done

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

