Last Night at Slimmons…

As most of you probably know by now, Richard Simmons is my friend. I’ve known him for almost 4 years now. He was instrumental in my weight loss, and he continues to be an unending source of support, inspiration, love, and friendship. I see Richard about once a week, when I take his workout classes at Slimmons. I went to Slimmons last night, and it was a particularly good class and fun evening.

David-Garcia-Richard-Simmons-Kirsty-Spraggon

That’s Kirsty Spraggon on the right. Last week, Kirsty interviewed me for her YouTube channel KirstyTV – an interview you can watch here.

Richard started class dressed, in his words, as a Viking king, He wore the above wig, as well as a black doublet and fur-lined cape. Throughout class, he shed the outer layers revealing his signature tank top underneath. He had also drawn on a goatee, but he wiped that off once he started sweating.

Last night’s class was a bit tougher than it’s been lately, and I appreciated that. And, it wasn’t too crowded, and I appreciated that as well! In case you’ve never been, Richard’s classes are mostly dance-based aerobics, very much like his “Sweatin’ to the Oldies” routines. After about 45 minutes of that, there’s 5 minutes of toning with free weights, 5 minutes of floor work (push-ups, sit-ups, and planks), and then Richard ends class with a motivational pep talk.

Tonight, instead of the pep talk, Richard gave out a few gifts, and he gave me this agua silk tie!

aqua-silk-tie

He recommended a local bead store, and suggested I jazz it up with beads or crystals. Maybe I will!

The tie wasn’t the only present I got last night. My friend Joanne brought me two of the last bell peppers from her garden!

Joanne-bell-peppers

They may be little, but I already know what I’m going to do with them… and I’ll share it on this blog next week.

In addition to a great workout, I got to catch up with a bunch of friends. Although we spoke for her show via webcam last week, I hadn’t seen Kirsty in person in probably a year or so, and it was great to see her. There’s a whole group of regulars at Slimmons that I’ve gotten to know over the past few years, and isn’t working out always more fun when you’re doing it with friends?

The fun didn’t stop at Slimmons! On my way home, I stopped to pick up a couple things at the supermarket, and they had the new issue of Weight Watchers magazine, which features, on Page 57, my friend Kelly!

David-Kelly-Weight-Watchers-Magazine

Kelly is a fellow weight loss blogger (check out her blog here) who has used Weight Watchers to lose and keep off 108 pounds! She’s featured as a success story in Weight Watchers magazine. Her article is great, and the photograph is FANTASTIC. Go find it at your local newsstand. Keep it up, Kelly, and…

…Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Last Night at Slimmons…

  1. nathanalbert says:

    Working out with Richard Simmons is officially on my bucket list. What a stud.

  2. XOXO – thanks for the shoutout!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 682 other followers

