Boing with Kangoo

I took a really fun, bizarre class at my gym the other night that involved wearing these crazy boots!

David-before-kangoo-class-boots

The boots are called Kangoo Jumps, and they’re basically boots with springs on them.

That picture was taken before class started, and I’m already sweaty because this was Part 2 of my workout. Part 1 was 50 floors on the StairMaster, stretching, and an upper body workout (chest presses, shoulder presses, lat pulldowns, rows, and the like).

I didn’t think I’d take to Kangoo Jumps. I’ve learned time and time again that I have no business strapping anything to my feet. I’m no good on roller skates or roller blades, and it was a major miracle that I could skate a lap around the rink when I tried ice skating a few years ago. I put that video on YouTube – get ready for a laugh! (I’m wearing blue shirt, tan pants)

But I like trying new things, and Boing with Kangoo was a new class that my gym was offering. I happened to be at the gym when the boots were delivered, so I saw the staff unpacking and prepping them and I was instantly intrigued. The first class that was offered filled up really quickly, but I got into the second class a week later. Here’s the close-up of the boot:

kangoo-boots

The boot is very similar to a ski boot in how it goes on and fits. The springs are a strange sensation, but it’s not like you’re bouncing to the ceiling with every step. It’s more like they cushion each step, but with a little effort, you can get some height!

The class itself was a pretty basic cardio aerobics-style class, with, of course, the boots. It was nonstop movement: running in place, various kinds of kicks and jumps and hops. This video will give a taste of what the class is like, although this was shot at a Crunch gym in New York and I didn’t have this instructor:

Boing with Kangoo is a blast! It’s a great workout, completely exhausting, and modifiable for people of different fitness levels. Because the springs absorb the impact, the workout is super low-impact on your body, and they make you use more muscles than you’d use without them, so you burn more calories.

In addition to making simple moves, like a Charleston dance step, more fun, the boots also make them more difficult. In addition, the springs made me really focus on balance, and staying upright was, at times, a little trickier. One of the hardest steps for me was a simple squat, because it required my entire lower body to stay balanced as I got lower. I felt this workout in my core and abs, and that was awesome. Plus, I was wearing my heart rate monitor, and it got my heart pumping. My heart rate was in the 150s or 160s for most of the class.

As a result, I was a LOT sweatier at the end of class than I was at the beginning!

David-after-kangoo-class-boots

This is DEFINITELY a class I’d take again!

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Boing with Kangoo

  1. loveablestef says:

    That looks so awesome, like so much fun!

  2. Catherine says:

    I’m pretty sure I would fall and hurt something. Even in flat shoes I’m not very steady.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

