Health Update, Button Update

After staring at it on my to-do list for a month, I finally sewed the button back on that had popped off my pants as a result of my recent weight gain.  The pants have red accents, so I used a bold red thread.

button

Project Runway, here I come!  I’ve lost a few pounds since popping that button, and while I haven’t worn the pants since the repair, I have a good feeling it won’t pop again.

Here’s the bigger, more exciting update – the one about my health (and other stuff):

I’m continuing to get better after my surgery last week. I had a follow-up appointment with my doctor this morning, and the incision has healed nicely. A bunch of tests that were ordered during the surgery came back, so my doctor as able to give me the official diagnosis for the mysterious lump that required surgery: epididymitis, an infection of the epididymis, a structure attached to the testicle. The doctor referred to my epididymitis as both “severe” and “atypical,” as my lump differed from how epididymitis normally manifests. I’m still quite swollen, and we did another ultrasound, which revealed that the swelling is a hematoma (a collection of blood). Nothing can really be done to deal with the hematoma – I just have to wait it out. My body will take care of it. It’s not painful on a regular basis, but it’s tender, and there’s pain when I’m overly active or that area gets jostled around. So… exercise is still on hold for now, and I don’t know yet when I’ll be able to resume.

I switched from the narcotic pain pills to regular ol’ Tylenol (extra-strength Tylenol, actually), when I need it, mainly because I’m back at work and driving to get there, and narcotics + driving = not safe.  This is actually my last week of work – after Friday, I’m a free man.  I’ve been working on “The Jeff Probst Show” for the past year, but the show was cancelled, and I was laid off. I don’t have anything new lined up yet, but that’s okay – I have some exciting travels in the next month that I’m really looking forward to (more on them in future posts).

Speaking of “The Jeff Probst Show”:  I was a guest on the show last fall to talk about my weight loss. If you haven’t seen it, check it out online right here. If you’d rather watch it on TV, you’re in luck! A rerun of the episode will air on Friday, June 7th. Tell your friends! Set your TiVo! Find out when it airs in your town!

My eating has been great. I’ve been pretty vigilant since I’m unable to work out. This morning’s weigh-in showed that I’m continuing to slowly lose weight, which is a wonderfully awesome surprise. I weighed 253 pounds this morning, meaning I’ve lost 4 pounds since my high last month when I fell off the wagon after this whole health scare began.

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Health Update, Button Update

  1. Val Scott says:

    All very positive, so glad to hear.

  2. Robin says:

    I just saw your spot on the Jeff Probst show,
    and had to let you know how proud I am of you and your healthy lifestyle. I have sons around your age, and you are such a great inspiration for other young men. I appreciated your insights, freedom in sharing your life and experiences in your blog. Keep it up, and thank you for including all of us in your life quest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

