Do You Have the Stones?

If you’re looking for an update about my impending surgery, you’ll have to wait a little longer. I wrote this post a few days ago and scheduled it for today, just to have some fresh content up. You know, because I’m an awesome blogger! Speaking of the surgery, a big thank you for all the messages of concern, support, love, and well wishes – they’ve been coming in from all over the place, and even though I haven’t been able to respond to all of them, I’ve read them and appreciated them!

Anyway, because the surgery will keep me away from strenuous exercise for 2-4 weeks, I decided I better get my fill of Slimmons classes while I could. So, last week, I went twice, with Thursday being my last class for a while.

3 with Richard CROP

It was a really fun class, and Richard Simmons was his usual zany, energetic self. There was a camera crew there, too! Camera crews at Slimmons aren’t terribly uncommon – he lets some show or another film there every few months or so (and, as a result, I’ve briefly been on a number of shows, including The Doctors and blink-and-you-miss-it appearances on Tia & Tamera, Fox News, and the Today Show).

The crew on Thursday was from the NFL Network, and they did an interview with Richard and shot footage throughout class for use in an upcoming show called “Top Ten Ageless Wonders.” One of Richard’s many wonderful qualities is that he rarely misses an opportunity to highlight people that are successful with their weight loss. During a break in the class, he called over the cameraman and made the cameraman follow him around while he pointed out success stories and talked with them. So, long story short, the NFL Network has footage of me sharing my weight loss! I doubt they’ll use it, as it probably won’t aid in telling the stories they want to tell on “Top Ten Ageless Wonders,” but who knows… maybe I’ll be on TV again! The show will likely air sometime in August… so keep an eye out!

The other thing I wanted to do in this post is respond to a blog comment I got recently. It’s from a reader named Pat, who wrote:

Your success is amazing, David! You look like a different person! I just got Richard Simmons new Project HOPE in the mail but I am reluctant to start yet another diet. I’m just so sick of it, ya know? I love Richard and how much he cares about people, but I don’t know if I have the stones to do it anymore.

First of all, thanks for the kind words, Pat. More importantly, I know exactly where you’re coming from. Before I started losing weight, I was resigned to the idea that I’d never be able to lose weight. I was certain I would always be that size, and I would just have to deal with it. I had tried a number of times to lose weight: I did Weight Watchers in high school. I was on a hospital-run liquid diet in college. I tried a number of diets since moving out to California. Some were more successful than others, but they never stuck. The weight always came back.

It feels awful when you gain back weight that you’ve lost. When I first met Richard and he offered to help me lose weight, I was terrified, because I already thought of myself as a failure when it came to my health, and I knew that if I tried something new, and it didn’t work, or I gained the weight back, I would be an even bigger failure. So why even try, right? But deep down I knew I was unhappy, and deep down I knew I deserved more.

Here’s the thing, Pat. You want to make a change and lose weight. That’s not easy. It’s going to require work, willpower, and sacrifice. You’ll have to confront the junk food in your pantry and choose to not eat it. You’ll have to pick up your gym shoes and decide to exercise. And if you’re not ready for those confrontations and decisions, than whatever program you embark on won’t work.

But I suspect there’s an inkling of possibility ricocheting around your head. There was a part of you that was inspired enough to pick up the phone and order Project H.O.P.E. You felt ready and eager, or you wouldn’t have pulled out your credit card and authorized the payment. So what’s changed?  Right now there’s a great package sitting on your table with everything you need to get started within it. All you gotta do is act on it, open the package, pop in a DVD, and go!

I completely relate to the thought of not having the stones to embark on yet another potentially fruitless endeavor. I get it. Losing weight is gonna be something that takes a lot of time and energy, for months on end. Probably years. So my question for you is:  What can you do tomorrow? Forget about the months and years, and think about tomorrow. Can you open Project H.O.P.E. and do one 30-minute workout? Can you get a side salad at lunch instead of fries? You don’t need to commit to counting every calorie and limiting intake of this or that – but commit to something, anything, no matter how small. Then, after you honor that commitment, set a goal for the next day. Keep going like that. You get the idea. You might just realize you have the stones to do a lot more than you think!

Keep it up, Pat, and…

Keep it up, David.

4 Responses to Do You Have the Stones?

  1. Val Scott says:

    I have been thinking about you and your “impending surgery” and I pray that all will go well. My son in law had the same surgery and he had successful results and he is back at work as a firefighter. My other thought was your worry about not exercising during your recovery. Have you read Eat To Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman? He talks at the beginning of that book about helping people that have such weight issues that they can’t even get off the couch. Through changes in their diet which he backs up with a lot of scientific evidence these people lost weight. Eventually once their health was restored enough they could incorporate exercise as well.
    From your blogs, you share with us what you eat and you seem to follow a lot of what Dr Fuhrman recommends.
    I feel that if you follow a sensible food program during your recovery your body will adjust its need for food while you are not exercising. So try not to stress about the lack of exercise and let your body heal. I hope this helps.
    Val Scott

  2. Pat says:

    Just what I needed to hear David, Thank You!

  3. Leslie says:

    You can do it Pat. David gives and takes his own great advice.

  4. Pat says:

    I don’t know who the Pat that answered you is, but I’m the Pat that posted initially. Thanks so much, David. You are right on. If I can just start, do ONE thing, and build on that, I think I’ll be able to do it. One success builds upon the other.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

