Double Yolks. PLUS, Watch the Infomercial Online!

EXCITING NEWS! You know how I’m featured in Richard Simmons’ new infomercial for Project H.O.P.E.? The infomercial clocks in at a full 30 minutes, but the online version is only 7 minutes, and I was left on the editing room floor. So unless you set your DVR, or happened to catch it on basic cable in the middle of the night, there’s a good chance you haven’t seen my little part of the infomercial yet.

UNTIL NOW! Check it out: the portion featuring the long-term success stories (me and my friends Joanne and Lori) is now on YouTube! It’s only 80 seconds – watch right here:

Big thanks to my buddy Jon. Check out some behind-the-scenes photos from the infomercial shoot here.

Moving on…

The most bizarre thing happened recently. I recently picked up a dozen eggs at Trader Joe’s and hard-boiled them, like I do pretty much every week. Correction: I hard-boiled 11 of them – one already had some cracks, so I tossed it.  When the 11 were finished, I couldn’t resist. I ate a few nearly immediately. The first egg I peeled, low and behold, had a double-yolk! That was pretty cool. Then I peeled a second egg. It too had a double yolk! So did the third. After three eggs I decided to start taking pictures.  The next three also had double yolks!

Double Yolk    I fought my desire to peel and eat the rest of them, and put the remaining eggs in the fridge. A few days later, I peeled three more: and all of them had double yolks!

IMG_5520

My friend Joanne (the same Joanne that’s in the infomercial clip above) shared two newspaper articles with me that claim that finding so many double yolks in one carton beats astronomical odds (read the stories here and here). But, as much as I’d like to think that I beat QUINTILLION TO ONE odds with my carton of double yolked eggs, I don’t buy it for a second. I’ve seen egg processing facilities on the Food Network, and every egg that’s laid gets scanned by laser or x-ray or something and if there’s any sort of imperfection, it gets shuttled off the assembly line. I would imagine that a double yolk would qualify as an imperfection, meaning that at every egg factory, there’s a bin of them somewhere. My guess is that after further examination, perfectly edible double yolked eggs are separated from other inedible, imperfect eggs, thrown in a carton, and sent to retail. I surely lucked out to purchase that particular carton, but it wasn’t dumb luck that every egg just happened to be double yolked.

Still, it makes for a good story, huh? And even better pictures!  Oh – and hold your breath: I know I overcooked the eggs, and that’s why the outside of the yolks are green. But guess what? I don’t care. The yolks end up in the trash. I don’t eat them.

You can check out my review of Eggies, the egg-related infomercial kitchen product, here!

Lastly, It’s April, so that means time to update my weight loss chart. I stayed even this month, which is good enough for me. Not gaining is always a win!

IMG_5564

Here’s my weight loss chart in it’s entirety:

IMG_5566

My weight of 242 pounds means I’ve lost (and kept off) 160 total pounds.

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Double Yolks. PLUS, Watch the Infomercial Online!

  1. Laura says:

    Whew! I will sleep better knowing you are not some sort of divine lightning rod channeling f’d up eggs. Thanks to you and the Food Network for the probable double yoked egg explanation! And, great clip! You look awesome in that suit! xoxo

  2. The Ladle says:

    Here’s my take on that…i also buy trader joe’s jumbo eggs and also find a lot of double yolks as well as in the fresh and easy brand. what are they giving or doing to the chickens to get them to lay more eggs with double yolks? Kinda scary when you think about it.

  3. Nina says:

    Awesome as always David! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

