EGGIES! Plus: Weight Loss Chart Update!

Man, I love hard-boiled eggs. I typically hard-boil a dozen eggs a week, and eat them as part of my lunches and after workouts. Usually, I eat only the whites, and toss the yolks into the trash, along with the shells, but every once in a while, I’ll eat one whole egg in addition to 2 or 3 more whites. Egg whites are an excellent source of protein, are fat-free, and low in calories.

So I was very excited to get my hands on an infomercial product that promised to make hard-boiled eggs a snap to make. The product is called Eggies, and here’s the commercial, in case you haven’t seen it (I’ve seen it roughly 2,500 times):

I can’t divulge where I got the Eggies, but I’m happy that I didn’t pay for them (and, no, I didn’t shoplift them). I don’t think that hard-boiling eggs is a particularly difficult proposition, and I’ve never been nearly as flustered as the women at the beginning of the commercial, but I’m all for kitchen shortcuts. And, well, I love informercial products. I’m in!

IMG_5400

Eggies are individual vessels that allow you to hard-boil eggs without the shell. Each box comes with 6 Eggies. Each Eggie has four parts:

IMG_5403

Clockwise on the plate, from the top: the bottom half, the collar that secures the bottom and top halves, the top half, and the lid. On the left is the BONUS egg separator, if you just wanted whites and no yolks (or yolks and no whites, for that matter). It wouldn’t be an infomercial product without a BONUS gift if you act now!  (The YouTube video above features a different bonus gift for some reason)

All the prep work already had me a little weary. Really? 24 pieces needed to make 6 hard-boiled eggs? Plus, 12 of those pieces had to be coated with non-stick spray, and you’re supposed to spray a paper towel and wipe them down instead of directly spraying the Eggies.  After doing all that, it was (finally) time to start cracking eggs!  You snap a top half to a bottom half, and secure them together with a collar.  Then, you crack an egg through the hole in the top, and screw on a lid. Here’s one Eggie, ready to go:

IMG_5409

For my first half dozen, I did two whole eggs, two egg whites, and 2 egg whites with some added Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil Garlic blend, which is my favorite seasoning of the moment.  Here are all 6 Eggies in a pot, ready to go:

IMG_5410

You need enough liquid in the pot so the Eggies float, and you’re not supposed to add them directly to boiling water. You’re supposed to fill the pot with warm tap water, and bring the water to a boil with the Eggies already immersed. And how long to are you supposed to cook them? Included is a nearly-full-page reference chart, because the times vary based on size of egg and how you want it cooked:

IMG_5414

Ugh, that’s a big chart.  And I had some whole eggs and some whites, so my first batch had a couple different cooking times.  I pulled the egg whites out after 6 or 7 minutes, and kept the whole eggs in a little longer.  You’re supposed to let them sit for at least 3 minutes to let them cool before releasing them from the Eggies, but I transferred them to a bowl of ice water to speed that process up.  It turns out I didn’t use enough cooking spray – they didn’t come out as quickly as they do in the commercial. I had to loosen them a little bit with a spoon:

IMG_5418

Here’s what a finished Eggie looks like (this was a white; the whole eggs are bigger). It’s a little strange to hold an hard-boiled egg that’s a different shape than an egg:

IMG_5421

And a plate full of finished Eggies:

IMG_5428

And they tasted like hard-boiled eggs. Success!

Here’s my problem with Eggies: I can peel a hard-boiled egg in the same amount of time it takes to prepare a Eggie. I don’t think it’s actually a time-saver. But it could be a time-saver if used a different way…. so that’s why I quickly washed all my Eggies and prepped them again for a second experiment: how would they do with liquid egg whites?

IMG_5415

Each Eggie can hold 1/4 cup of egg substitute, so I filled them up, added seasoning to them, and put them back in the pot. I discovered that one of the collars already had trouble keeping the Eggie together, and sure enough, it started leaking as it boiled.  Great – is one of my Eggies already broken? When I came back to fish the cooked egg whites out and transfer them to the ice bath, this is what I found: a cobweb of leaked, cooked egg whites across the top of the pot:

IMG_5429

The Eggie that leaked didn’t look so pretty (it’s the one that’s not on the plate), but the other five turned out wonderfully:

IMG_5437

IMG_5440

I loved these! I’m so accustomed to breaking open a hard-boiled egg to fish out a yolk before I eat it, and with these, I don’t have to. It’s an easy way to portion out individual servings of egg whites from a carton, and I also like that I can add seasoning beforehand, although it’s a shame that the seasonings I used all float to the top.

My final verdict?   I’d use them again with liquid egg whites from a carton, but they’re just not worth it for hard-boiling actual eggs.

Before I wrap this up, A quickie weight loss chart update:

I weighed myself over the weekend, and I’m DOWN ONE POUND for the month of February! Moving in the right direction. Here’s my chart:

IMG_5442

IMG_5447

Keep it up, David!

13 Responses to EGGIES! Plus: Weight Loss Chart Update!

  1. SarahGarcia77@yahoo.com says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  2. chauncyrenay says:

    I wish I read this before I bought my Eggies! lol! I might get some liquid egg whites, though. Great idea!

  3. WebPixie says:

    I would try using tongs to shake the eggie up about half way through the cooking process to get the spices mixed in a bit more.

  4. Lisa says:

    Have you tried cooking the egg whites in a ziploc in boiling water? I have never done it with just the whites but it should work much like what we did which was make your own omelets. Add the eggs to the ziploc, add seasonings and other ingredients, squish around a bit to mix, then seal with as much air removed as possible and drop in boiling water. Cook till done.If you add meat it needs to be cooked first. Will come out in a tube shape that’s perfect for wrapping in a tortilla.

  5. Bev Jull says:

    I always hard boil my eggs in Richard Simmons steamer . . . just set the timer and walk away . . . and they peel incredibly easy!!!

  6. Jodi says:

    Thank you for the review! I was going to buy these and now I will pass!

  7. Hi David,
    Good news, all the research points to egg yolks being very good for us. And that the protein in them becomes more usable and easier digested when eaten in combination with the yellow! I like to make my eggs semi-soft boiled and keep them in the fridge and grab as needed. Because the cool of in the fridge the yellow isnt runny however, it is still translucent in color leaving the yolk to be very buttery and smooth- delish Ill throw a few in a glass container with a bit of salt and munch on the way home from gym or in between clients.
    Also, Ive spent the last couple of years reading so much info on Carbs/Sugar-in any form, including fruit. That these are the culprits for making us fat. That fat doesn’t make us fat, or have high cholesterol either. Anyway, would love to chat more with you on this. Congrats on learning and listening to what works for you and your body.
    Im currently trying to lose the last ten pounds of pregnancy weight. We had our second child 10 weeks ago! Would love to hear more about you.
    With Kindness,
    Leah Stutz (Spelling)- Tavi’s sister!

    • David says:

      Great to hear from you, Leah – and thanks for checking out the blog! You’re not the first to advocate low carb/sugar – I’ve been seeing similar research, and my dad has had success in losing weight from, in part, cutting out sugar – except he still does eat fruit.
      And your eggs sound great – I’ve never had a soft- or semi-soft-boiled egg in my life! I’ll have to give it a try.
      I heard about your new addition – congratulations! Hope this finds you well, and good luck with the final 10 pounds – KEEP IT UP!
      xo

      • Leah says:

        Hi David!
        Great hearing back from you. The soft boil trick is as follows. Cover eggs in pot with water, bring to a boil. Once water is boiling lower heat to medium high ish and set timer for six minutes. When you hear the ding ( remember how the film say anything ends with the ding) take eggs out with spoon and transfers into a bowl of ice with a little bit of h2o ie an ice bath. Let cool for 10 minutes and then place I’m fridge. Enjoy. If they are too runny add a minute next time if they are too cooked take away a minute of cooking etc. Let me know how try work for you. Also, do you make anything else in a slow cooker? I’m thinking of gettin one however, I have a le Crueset Dutch ove which is kind of like a slow cooker for the stove top and can go in the oven.
        Warmly

      • David says:

        Hey! I make tons of stuff in the slow cooker. The huge benefit, compared to a dutch oven, is that I have no qualms leaving the house while the slow cooker is on. There’s no flame! I should have an archive of my slow cooker recipes, but I don’t. I’ll add it to the list! :)
        Best

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

