Return of the Produce Haul!

I haven’t done a produce haul post in an eternity, if you define ‘eternity’ to mean a few months. But it sure seems like an eternity has passed since I’ve carefully arranged the contents of a shopping excursion on my coffee table, and it’s time to do something about that. I was inspired to do a produce haul this past weekend, when I noticed my cupboards were nearly completely bare. My fruit bowl had 3 heads of garlic and two lemons, and check out my fridge:

IMG_5103

Nothing but condiments, egg whites, water, 1 yogurt, and some low-sodium V8 in there!

So I visited one of my favorite stores, Sprouts, because they have great produce prices, and it’s just down the street from my gym. Wanna see what I ended up with?

IMG_5109

Top Row: 3 cartons blackberries (on sale for 99 cents apiece!), 3 red pears, a bag of broccoli florets (and I bought a second bag that I accidentally left out of the photo that was a mix of broccoli and cauliflower florets), 4 kiwi, 2 bags of baby carrots, 2 zucchini, 4 golden delicious apples.

Bottom Row: 1 bag salad mix, 4 satsuma tangerines, 1 bag green grapes, 1 orange pepper (on sale for 99 cents), a cucumber, bananas, and a bag of sugar snap peas.

You may know that I have a fondness for trying out new types of produce that I’ve never tried before (I created a page that archives these posts; visit it by clicking here), but nothing really caught my eye in the produce section. But I did stumble upon something that very much caught my eye right next to the canned tuna:

IMG_5106

Canned octopus! I’m no stranger to eating cephalopods. When I was little, I would watch my grandfather eat tins of squid in their own ink that he would bring back from Spain, but I never had the courage to try it. At some point I manned up, and since then, I’ve eaten squid regularly: in sushi, deep fried, in soups and stews, in jerky form, and with pasta. I’ve had octopus less than I’ve had squid, but I’ve certainly tried it before. It’s not bad, but like squid, it can be chewy.

I don’t know what I’ll do with this octopus yet, but I’m looking forward to trying it. I was worried it might be high in fat, since it’s packed in oil, but it turns out the entire container only has 100 calories, 4 grams of fat, 14 grams of protein, and 250mg of sodium – pretty healthy!

In other news, I had a very exciting weekend that I’m not at liberty to talk about, because I signed a confidentiality agreement saying that I wouldn’t. But I can say that it involved a camera crew and a photo shoot and you’ll hopefully see the end result on television at some point in the first quarter of 2013!

I also squeezed in two great workouts at the gym this weekend. On Saturday, I spend 20 minutes on the stairmaster, then 20 minutes on a seated elliptical, and then 5 minutes using the rope trainer. My workout on Sunday involved 15 minutes on the stairmaster, and then 30 minutes lifting weights, with an emphasis on upper body.

I’m just realizing now that I spent a combined 35 minutes on the stairmaster, and I didn’t pay attention at all to how many flights I climbed. How I will ever keep adding to my Skyscraper Collection? Oh well. There’s always a next time.

Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Return of the Produce Haul!

  1. Nina Fitzgerald says:

    You r too cool David! Happy Holidays to you!

  2. TC says:

    I hate when you don’t give details on your exciting news, and I’m going to have wait a few months to find out? Good job on the workout, your always an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

