Exercise Victories and Weight Loss Chart Update

My exercise routine has evolved (or perhaps devolved) significantly over the course of 2012. For the first half of the year, I was easily meeting my goal of working out 6 times a week (with 5 times a week being acceptable). But that was an easy goal for me to reach, as I was unemployed at the time, with a lot of free time.

But then in June, I started my new job, and exercising became more difficult, as I went from jobless to 50-55 hours a week in an office. I never stopped exercising altogether, but I did cut back significantly, to 3 days a week. Earlier this fall, I felt myself getting a little lazier with my workouts, which was one of the reasons I signed up for the 10K I ran last month. My plan worked: prepping for the 10K was the perfect way to get focused and excited about working out again.

After the race was over, though, the laziness returned. And I had no plan in motion to combat that laziness. Until I stepped on a plane and flew to Colorado for Thanksgiving. Sometimes there’s nothing like a getaway to reboot your system!

I’ve already written about how I handled food over Turkey Day, but I’m even more happy with how much I exercised. I was in Colorado for almost 4 days, and they were extremely active! Check it out:

  • Thursday (Thanksgiving). Completed a 70-minute workout. Combination of running and a variety of push-ups, sit-ups, squats, etc. Shortly after getting back to my sister Sarah’s place, Sarah and I rode bikes with my niece and nephew to the park, where we ran around and played on the playground. We were gone for about an hour.
  • Friday. Sarah and I went to the pool at her rec center, and swam 2,700 yards (I think it took a little under an hour). Later that day, we walked around the zoo for a couple hours.
My niece Allison and a komodo dragon.

My niece Allison and a komodo dragon.

  • Saturday. I borrowed my brother-in-law’s bike and went for a 9-mile bike ride, which took about 50 minutes.

When I got back to Los Angeles on Saturday night, I decided to see if I could keep the momentum going. And I did.

  • Sunday. An hour workout at my gym, primarily focused on weightlifting.
  • Monday. Back to the gym after work, where I spent about 35 minutes on my favorite piece of cardio equipment, an Arc Trainer.
  • Tuesday. Rest day.
  • Wednesday. A roughly 40-minute run around Hollywood after work.

It wasn’t until the end of the week that I looked back at my calendar and realized that, starting on Thanksgiving, I worked out six times in seven days. I immediately pulled out my calendar and started flipping through the months, and realized it was the first time I’ve done that since mid-August!

I’d like to continue my little streak, but it’s hard now that my little Thanksgiving break is over and I’m back to work. But I did go for a 35-minute run after work last night, and on Saturday, I went and took one of Richard Simmons’ classes, which is always a good workout. It sure would be nice to end 2012 with a bang, exercise-wise, so I’m going to do what I can to keep this going.

Which brings me to another fun update… my weight loss chart update!

Let’s get right to it, shall we?

IMG_5056

DOWN ONE POUND! It’s my first loss since August, and it feels good! That puts my weight at 240 pounds, which is a 162-pound weight loss. Woohoo! 

Here’s my entire weight loss chart:

IMG_5057

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to Exercise Victories and Weight Loss Chart Update

  1. Caron says:

    Working full time really does make it harder but not impossible to exercise. You are doing great maintaining your weight loss. Yes, indeed, — Keep it up David! :)

  2. Keep up the great journey! Congrats from TheFatGuy!

  3. chauncyrenay says:

    This post is the bessst! Love your recent momentum. Don’t stop, keep it going!!

  4. TC says:

    I am the same way, if I don’t have something to work for, I get lazy, I did my sprint triathlon in September, but since then I have not had anything to look forward too. Need to get on the computer and look for a 5K or something. Thanks for the post, great job.

  5. Sarah says:

    Yay!! down 1 lb!! Colorado was good to you :)

  6. Kenlie says:

    Great job on the workouts!!!! Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

