Easy Pumpkin Dip AND Weight Loss Chart Update!

By the time you read this, it’ll already be November 12th, and I just realized I never posted my most recent weigh-in results from… um… 12 days ago. Whoopsy, my bad! I got a little swept up in last weekend’s 10K race, which, by the way, left me sore in my quads and calves for nearly three days. Even though the race is over and done with, I still ran three more times last week, due to the convenience of running and my new habit of bringing a change of clothes to the office so I can hit the streets as soon as I’m done with work.

But I digress. I have a weight loss chart to update! For anyone that may be new here, I’ve kept a weight loss chart since I began this endeavor nearly three years ago (!), and every month I update it with my weight as a way to stay accountable, remind myself of my successes, and track my progress. After I weighed myself on November first, I updated my chart like this:

I stayed even at 241 pounds. I’ll confess that I was hoping for a loss, on account of all the running I’d been doing to prepare for the 10K, but I’ll take it! After two months of small gains, I’m glad that I stopped adding weight. And looking back at calendar year 2012, which that photo shows, I realized that I’ve stayed within the same 5-pound range since January. That’s pretty sweet, even though I’m at the high end of the range at the moment.

241 pounds represents a loss of 161 pounds. I don’t get tired of reminding myself of that! Here’s the chart in its entirety (for you new folks, it’s hanging on my closet wall, where I can see it every day as I dress):

It’s hard to photograph the chart in interesting new ways, since it’s in a relatively small space, but today I figured out a new angle that I’ve never done before: the chart AND ME! I was rather focused lining things up to include both my starting weight and my face, so I forgot to smile, but here it is:

Upon second glance, the lighting sucks too and I wished I shaved that morning, but hey. I never claimed to be Annie Leibovitz.

MOVING ON.

I have an easy-peasy appetizer that’s PERFECT for this time of year. It’s a pumpkin dip, and it’s delicious. I made this dip for a little family party I went to on Saturday, and I planned on photographing all my steps, but then my Saturday tuned out way differently than planned, and that idea got chucked out the window. Basically, that morning, my car wouldn’t start. The battery was dead. I roped my neighbor into helping me jump my car, but it didn’t work. So I had to call a tow service, who, with the aid of a magic super battery, was able to start the car, and I immediately took it in for service, where I had a new battery installed. Ugh. Not the way I wanted to spent my Saturday, and I wasn’t able to go to the gym or run a couple errands I wanted to run, but my car is all better, and by the time I got home, I had about 45 minutes to throw this dip together and shower and change.

But I digress. Again.

The dip is based on a recipe I found on the interwebs, but I changed a few things, as I like to do, so now I can claim full ownership! Muahahahaha! It only has a few ingredients:

  • One 15-ounce can pumpkin. The store was out of that size, so I had to by a 29-ounce can, and now I have a lot of extra pumpkin. Oh, and be sure to buy pumpkin puree, and not pumpkin pie filling.
  • 6 ounces cream cheese, softened. I bought a 8-ounce tub of the fat-free stuff and used 3/4 of it (go math skills!).
  • 3 ounces nonfat plain Greek yogurt. That’s about half of a single-serving container.
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon.
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg.
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin (one of my favorite spices).

Throw it all in your food processor and give it a whirl until it’s smooth and velvety. It turned out more velvety than I was expecting! I also bought dried cranberries that I considered tossing in at the end (which I thought would be an inspired Thanksgiving addition), but I left them out because I didn’t want to muck up the smoothness by adding chunks of anything.

The finished product:

I brought along apple and pear slices to the party (which I dunked in acidulated water to keep from browning), along with whole wheat pita triangles. Here’s the dip on an apple slice…

…and on some whole wheat pita:

The dip is incredibly creamy and pumpkiny, and while there’s definitely some sweetness to it, it’s not overly sweet by any means (the cumin helps add a smoky undertone, too). I liked it more with the fruit than the pita, but I’d like to try it with toasted bread, for that crunchy/creamy combo. A recipe online suggested spreading in on a waffle, and that sounds really good to me.

Pumpkin, if you didn’t know, is pretty good for you. It’s ridiculously high in vitamin A, has more potassium per serving than a banana, and it a good source for fiber and vitamin C.

Maybe with my leftover pumpkin puree I’ll whip up another batch! Unless any of you have any great healthy pumpkin ideas or recipes?

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Easy Pumpkin Dip AND Weight Loss Chart Update!

  1. Nina Fitzgerald says:

    Awesome!

  2. Sarah says:

    Will you make this dip at my house? It sounds so yummy!!

    PS nice job on maintaining your weight!

  3. mindale says:

    Just started following your site….it was the pumpkin dip that reeled me in. I am crazy about anything made with pumpkin, for me it is the ultimate comfort food. Thanks for posting and Keep it up David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

