Counting My Successes

Last night I was all prepared to write another post where I was hard on myself. I overate on Saturday night and felt crappy the next morning. It was my cousin’s birthday, and we had a family party at my aunt and uncle’s house, and while there, I ate a giant piece of lasagna (it was probably 2 or 3 servings), plus 4 pieces of garlic bread plus cake and ice cream plus a ton of candy corn, because, you know, tis the season for candy corn. I ate some salad, too.

It is way too easy for me to be hard on myself. Maybe you’ve noticed that. It doesn’t take much for me to beat myself up, but I’m working on that. And so, to that end, I decided not to write the blog post that initially came to mind. I’m not going to dwell on some choices that I made during one evening that, for the record, was really fun. Instead, I’m going to count my successes for the week, because the rest of the week went really well.

I’m going to start with Sunday. I’ve already mentioned that I felt pretty crappy on Sunday morning, and I totally vegged out for a couple hours on the couch and watched some stuff on the ol’ TiVo that had been waiting for me. I finally rallied around noon and had a productive day. Did some laundry, ran a couple errands, and at 2pm sharp, I pulled into the parking lot at the pool and got in a great workout. I haven’t been swimming tons lately – it’s been off my radar since I competed in my first open water swim race about 2 months ago – so it felt nice to be in the water, especially since I was swimming in an outdoor pool on a beautiful day in mid-October with the temperature hovering in the mid- to high-80s. Gotta love southern California!

In total, I swam 2,500 yards, and the highlight was when I overheard a lifeguard that was teaching kids how to swim refer to me as an example. “You’re gonna push off the wall and put your hands together like this so you’re streamlined and then you’re gonna kick to the surface, just like that guy does.”  That guy = ME.

I had a very successful workout week altogether. The plan I outlined last week, that involves going for a run immediately after leaving the office, has been working wonderfully. Last week I went for 3 runs after work, with a combined duration of 1 hour 45 minutes of running. I finished one of those runs and looked down at my stopwatch, and saw that I was thisclose (less than a second) from all the numbers being a three: 

Maybe another time I’ll run for exactly 33 minutes and 33 seconds!  Oh, the things that get me excited.

In addition to the running, I had a great weightlifting workout at the gym on Saturday, before the lasagna/candy corn/cake blowout. So, add ‘em all up, and that’s 5 workouts last week. It was the first time in weeks I’ve worked out 5 times.  That’s a major accomplishment.

I have an upcoming event to thank for motivating me to get running again, and I’m really freakin’ close to being able to talk about it openly. But for now I’ll tell you this: It’s already a great story that I can’t wait to share…. and the event hasn’t even happened yet! My next blog post will be a doozy… you don’t want to miss it!

Keep it up, David!

4 Responses to Counting My Successes

  1. Sheilah Lowe says:

    Lot’s of successes here, David! I cannot wait to hear your news in your next blog. Keep it up, David!!

  2. Sarah says:

    Congrats on all the workouts!

  3. chauncyrenay says:

    I needed to hear this today. After 2 amazing weeks of hard work, I ate like a crazy person Fri – Mon! Reading your post is motivating me to get back on the wagon today. You rock!!

  4. Nurse Karen says:

    All of the above: whoot, whoot! I’m so amazed you can run. Proud of You!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

