Magic Mountain 2 – The Sequel!

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO ME! A few days ago, I reached a big milestone: my two-year blogging anniversary. On September 13, 2010, I started a new venture of chronicling my weight loss efforts, and I’d say so far so good! This is my 639th (!) post, and I’ve now lost and kept off 160+ pounds for over a year. At the moment, I’ve lost 164 pounds, but I’m also due for a weigh-in that I should’ve had the other morning but I completely forgot.

I think my weigh-in slipped my mind because I had something much more exciting to do this weekend: a return trip to Six Flags Magic Mountain! I think there’s a few of you out there that have been blog readers since the very beginning (I’m looking at you, Mom), so you might remember that my very first blog post was about my inaugural visit to Magic Mountain. If you’ve never read it, or want a refresher, check it out hereThat trip was a reward I gave myself for losing 100 pounds, and it was my first time on a roller coaster in eight years, thanks to my obesity, which prevented me from fitting within most coasters’ harnesses.

That first trip was nearly tear-inducing – it felt so incredibly awesome to fit on rides that I used to not be able to fit on. What was most eye-opening about this trip was how much of a non-issue my weight was. This is partly because I’ve made theme park outings a semi-regular affair since I started blogging, having been to Knott’s Berry Farm, Disneyland, Disney California Adventure, and Cedar Point, the Ohio park where I was once kicked off a ride for being too fat. But more importantly, it’s because I’m no longer a stranger to being at this weight. I walked in the door after a long day of riding coasters and realized I never once thought about my weight all day long. I’m proud of that.

Wanna see some pictures?

I went to Magic Mountain with my friend Greg, who I’ve known most of my life. Here we are waiting in line for Superman:

Superman was closed when I went two years ago, so this was my first time on it – Greg’s too, for that matter. They shoot you out of the station at 100 mph, and then you go straight up a 400-foot tower, then down it, and that’s it. Here I am in front of the ride entrance…

…and a better shot of the tower:

It’s a fun ride, and a quick one – it lasts about 30 seconds. But we only waited about 15 minutes for it. In fact, the headline for the day was that we barely waited for most of the coasters. We walked into nearly-empty coaster stations more often than not. This was the entire line for Colossus, the big twin wooden coaster…

…and the entire line for Scream…

…and here’s the nearly empty station for The Revolution…

…and we were 2 of only 6 people on our Gold Rusher train:

Seriously – after Labor Day but before the Halloween attractions open is the time to go to an amusement park. No doubt about it!

We waited a little longer at some other rides, but never more than 30 minutes. We waited probably around 25 minutes for Green Lantern: First Flight, a coaster that opened last year, and that was 25 minutes of my life that I’ll never get back, because it’s a terrible ride. It’s short and has a small footprint: you go up about 100 feet and wind your way back down. There aren’t any drops more than 20 or 25 feet, but the seats move independently of the track, meaning you spin forwards, backwards, and potentially upside down at any given point. Here I am in front of it:

I would totally recommend the ride if it wasn’t so ridiculously painful. Sorry to be blunt here, but my nuts got smashed two or three times, and the harness dug into my shoulders. Simply awful. Do yourself a favor and avoid it.

We went on every coaster in the park. We went on my two favorites, X2 and Tatsu, twice, and also rode Goliath, Scream, Riddler’s Revenge, Batman, Apocalypse, and Ninja. We rode all three water rides, two of which I hadn’t been on before. The only notable rides we didn’t go on were Viper, which is also painful for me, and Lex Luthor: Drop of Doom, the newest ride, which we skipped because Greg’s not a big fan of freefall rides.

It was a hot day – around 95 degrees – so we chose to eat lunch in the only sit-down restaurant in the park, Mooseburger Lodge, which was air-conditioned and, therefore, a nice respite from the sun. It’s not a great restaurant, but I found some healthy options. I got a grilled chicken caesar wrap, dressing on the side:

Instead of fries, I got a side salad, dressing on the side. It was a pretty pathetic salad – just lettuce and croutons – but better than fries!

And between my iced tea and my water, I probably drank between 70 and 90 ounces of liquids! Plus, I made Greg take my picture with one of the animatronic moose that were singing annoying songs while we ate. Here I am with Maybelle:

What’s not to love about a moose wearing lipstick?

All in all, it was a wonderful day, and I got a big coaster fix that will last me a good long time. Can’t think of a better way to celebrate the two-year anniversary of this little website!

Happy Anniversary! And…

Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Magic Mountain 2 – The Sequel!

  1. chauncyrenay says:

    I can NOT believe you rode every coaster! That’s really cool. I totally agree with Green Lantern. So very painful and not fun at all. Hope you get to go on the Drop of Doom next time. It’s one of my faves. Glad your experiences have totally changed since 2 years ago. =) Congrats on your success!!

  2. Mom says:

    I’m so proud of you, David, and you know that. My stomach is a little “turned upside down” just reading about all those coasters, especially Superman. I used to love coasters also…what happened?

  3. Will P. says:

    Great Blog, Job Well done and Thank You for sharing all your experiences at Six Flags.

    Will P.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

