There’s Always Room For…

…JELL-O!

I can’t remember the last time I had Jell-O. It’s been years. I used to make it with some frequency growing up. One time, my friends Jonathan, Jocelyn and I used it with great success in an 11th-grade physics project that involved designing a structure that would catch an egg dropped from 10 feet. We filled a pie plate with various squishy foodstuffs, like Jell-O and marshmallows, and ta-da! Our egg landed safely, without so much as a crack in its shell.

A few weeks ago, I was at my local GNC, stocking up on protein powder, when I saw this on one of the shelves. It’s not Jell-O brand, but close enough:

They’re fat-free, 100 calorie gelatin cups, fortified with 23 grams of protein. Tropical fruit flavored. The package of three cost $6. I’m in!

I ended up trying my first cup while sitting in a parking lot, before working out.

It looks and tastes like Jell-O!

The GNC I was at only had the tropical fruit variety, but I wonder if it comes in more flavors. Orange Jell-O was always my favorite.

I love getting my protein from unexpected sources! Wonder what I’ll find next?!?

Moving on…

On Sunday, I hit the pool for another training session before the big open water swim next month. And I reached a milestone during my swim! I started off with 2,200 yards without stopping – that’s 88 lengths of the pool in a row. I’ve been working up towards 2,200 yards, because that’s a hair over 1.2 miles, the distance of the open water swim. I noted when I started and stopped… and that 2,200 yards took me 34 minutes and 10 seconds. And it was boring. So boring. Because I don’t have a way to listen to music underwater, what usually happens is that the last song I heard in my car before arriving at the pool gets stuck in my head, on repeat, for most of my workout. It can be the most annoying thing ever. Thankfully, this time around it was a song I really like: “The Rifle’s Spiral,” by The Shins. And it has an awesome animated music video:

Now I know what it feels like to swim 1.2 miles without stopping. And it feels like an eternity. I can only imagine what it feels like in the cold, dark ocean. I’ll know for sure soon enough.

After catching my breath after that 2,200 yards, I swam another 800 yards, switching between IMs, using a kickboard, and using a pull buoy. My 3,000 yard (in total) workout took just under an hour.

Keep it up, David!

PS – I got a very thought-provoking comment on a recent post. Check it out here, and stay tuned… I’ll probably address that comment in my next post.

3 Responses to There’s Always Room For…

  1. Alix Stayton says:

    My brother puts his ipod in an OtterBox and uses underwater headphones to swim…I was skeptical at first, but it’s pretty amazing technology!

  2. Jen says:

    Those cups come in cherry too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 684 other followers

