3,200 Yards + 555 Feet

I got home from the pool a little while ago, and I’m exhausted. I reek of chlorine. I think there’s still a little water trapped somewhere in my ear.

But I had a great workout!

I’m in full training mode for the upcoming Distance Swim Challenge (only 6 weeks and 3 days away!). Full training mode, for me, means completing one workout a week in the pool until race day. I hit the pool Thursday after work, and started with a 1,500 yard swim (that’s 60 lengths of the pool), without stopping. The race itself is the equivalent of 85 lengths of the pool, so I’m building towards that. The 1,500 yard swim took about 23.5 minutes to complete, and it felt good. Really good.

My full workout:

  • 1,500 free (without stopping)
  • 200 kick, 200 pull (400 yards)
  • 3 x 200 IM (600 yards)
  • 5 x 100 free (with my head up for the 3rd 25 of each 100) (500 yards)
  • 200 cool-down (back and breast)
  • Grand Total: 3,200 yards. Fantastic!

I attended a couple barbecues on the Fourth of July, but not until after I hit the gym. And what better way to celebrate our country’s freedom than by hopping on a StairMaster and climbing steps for 15 minutes while saluting a flag the whole time? OK, I may be lying about the saluting the flag part, but I did start my workout on the StairMaster. And in those 15 minutes, I climbed 62 stories.

The building I’m adding to my Skyscraper Collection is not actually a building at all. In honor of the holiday, I choose an obelisk – perhaps the most well-known obelisk in the country…

The Washington Monument!

At 555 feet tall, The Washington Monument is the tallest structure in the District of Columbia, and the tallest obelisk in the world. It’s about the same height as a 50-story building (although that’s a rough estimate).

We went to the Washington Monument when I was a kid (maybe 6 or 7 years old), and while I don’t remember being at the top, I have a very specific memory from when we waited in line, outside. The family next to ours in line was from Ohio, and I distinctly remember my father telling a joke: “What’s high in the middle and round at each end?” “Ohio.”

But that’s neither hear nor there. Here’s some fun facts about the Washington Monument:

  • The walls are 15 feet thick at the base.
  • The stairwell has 897 steps. (I wonder how many I climbed on the StairMaster?)
  • There’s not a single brick in the entire monument – it’s made of stone. Marble, granite, and gneiss, specifically.

Here’s something else I didn’t know about the Washington Monument: it’s old! I’ve never thought about how old the monument could be, but if I had to guess, I’d say it was built in the first half of the 1900s.

Wrong! Construction began in 1848 -164 years ago! – and continued for 6 years, until money ran out. The monument sat unfinished for 25 years, while the country dealt with bigger issues, like the Civil War. Construction began again in 1879, and the monument officially opened to the public in 1888, 30 years after the death of its architect, Robert Mills. You can see how the marble on the exterior of the monument gets darker about 1/3 of the way up – that’s where the 25-year delay occurred, and when construction resumed, they couldn’t quite match the color of the marble.

Yep – I climbed that!

I ended up having a second, impromptu workout later in the day when, at one of the barbecues, someone pulled out a Nintendo Wii and I got hooked on Just Dance 3, a dancing video game. I’d never played before, and I kicked ass! I danced in 5 or 6 songs, and won every round except for one! My friend Christine took a great action shot, but my blogging platform is acting up and not letting me upload it. So I put in my Facebook page – click here to see it.

I ate well at the barbecues, and I ate a lot, but mostly healthy options. Lots of corn, lots of veggies, and more red meat than I’ve eaten in the past couple months combined. I stayed away from the chips and cookies.

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to 3,200 Yards + 555 Feet

  1. Just Dance is a highly addictive video game. I’ve had “dance nights” at my house. Take some friends, add alcohol and turn on Just Dance. It’s really a lot of fun!

  2. andrew says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. Congrats with your achievement! Yes, obesity price is so high. Good luck! I have researched much as I am not convinced that weight loss surgery is my option, and I am glad that I found something that saved me from the surgical knife cost and complications as well as irreversible damage. Roca Labs gastric bypass no surgery has helped me loss 43 lbs and still counting… I am glad that I am winning back a healthy weight and, this is — priceless! I am sharing this to let others know that there are better alternative to surgery and a healthy approach to weight problems. After the program, I believe I can get myself another gift — fitness! I will continue with the healthy habits, no more junks and mouth to stomach garbage and I can start to workout when joints are no longer in pains with this morbid obesity… There is still a better after us and we deserve it in any ages! Please don’t get me wrong, I considered surgery before but, I discovered an option. Whichever way, best of luck with your weight loss!

  3. I have a climbing goal for you if you ever come to Vancouver!

    http://www.grousemountain.com/grousegrind/

    I just did it, It was painful but soo worth it when I got to the top!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

