June 2012 Progress Report

Yesterday, I updated my weight loss chart.

Now it’s time to my monthly exercise progress report!

Let’s take a look-see at the ol’ calendar, shall we?

These posts are a monthly tradition for me – I put one together every time a new month starts (check out May, April, and March). I love putting together statistics about workouts, and find that knowing what I did last month is a huge motivator for staying active in the new month.

I note every single workout in my calendar. I have a little system:

  • A dot = a workout (with notes that remind me of what the workout was).
  • A circle around the dot = a class at Slimmons. I took 2 classes there this month, one with Richard, and one with Anne, another instructor there.
  • A triangle around a dot = a different type of class (this month, it was Cardio Barre).
  • A little “w” above the dot = something new, so I can quickly see the workouts that had a weightlifting focus. I’m not nuts about the “w” – but haven’t yet thought of something better to replace it with.
  • Since I use this calendar for everything, I blurred out information that doesn’t pertain to exercise.

June was a busy month! I announced my next fitness challenge (an open water swim), and bought a much-needed wetsuit at a ridiculously low price. I had my first (and possibly only) ocean training session, and tried out a different local pool for the first time. Oh yeah, and I was featured in newspapers across Canada and started a new job!

In total, I worked out on 26 of the 30 days in June – a 86% success rate! Well done! Fifteen of those workouts had a weightlifting focus – my second-highest number in 2012.

Here’s June compared with the other months of 2012:

  • January 2012: Worked out 26 out of 31 days (83%), including 7 classes at Slimmons, and 1 class at Crunch. 12 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • February 2012: Worked out 23 out of 29 days (79%), including 4 classes at Slimmons, and 1 yoga class. 13 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • March 2012: Worked out 27 out of 31 days (87%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 1 spin class. 14 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • April 2012: Worked out 26 out of 30 days (86%), including 2 classes at Slimmons, and 2 other classes. 17 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • May 2012: Worked out 27 out of 31 days (87%), including 4 classes at Slimmons. 9 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • June 2012: Worked out 26 out of 30 days (86%), including 2 classes at Slimmons and 1 Cardio Barre class. 15 workouts had a weightlifting focus.

So far in 2012, I’ve exercised 155 out of 182 days (85%), including 24 classes at Slimmons.

At this point last year, I had worked out 141 out of 181 days (78%), which means I’m on track to reach my big 2012 exercise goal, which is to have worked out more than I did in 2011!

Keep it up, David!

PS – I wish you a happy, healthy, fun-filled Fourth of July! See you back here on Thursday.

4 Responses to June 2012 Progress Report

  1. Tavi says:

    glad to see you are keeping it up! I don’t like using weights either, but I’ve been doing it and it shows!

    • David says:

      I didn’t say I didn’t like using weights, Tavi! I actually really enjoy it and hope to continue making it an increasingly important part of my workout regimen.

  2. Ryan says:

    Great post! Great job of keeping up a workout regimen, and sticking to your goals. One thing I’ve found to be extremely helpful and useful as a supplement to my current diet/exercise plan is Fullbar (www.fullbar.com). Not only do their products help you lose weight, they also help you maintain your weight loss.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

