What’s In The Crockpot? Part Six

A big thank you to everyone who sent good thoughts my way yesterday. My first day at the new job was great – I met a lot of great new colleagues and absorbed a lot of info… now, onto Day 2!

Like I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I spent part of my Sunday loading up my crockpot to make some meals to eat throughout the week. There’s no better way to reveal my crockpottery than by playing a riveting, edge-of-your-seat game of What’s In The Crockpot?!

What’s In The Crockpot? is a spin-off of the very popular, smash hit, blockbuster blog game What’s In The RediSetGo?, all of which are archived here. (I haven’t archived my What’s In The Crockpot? installments yet, but it’s on my list.) If you’ve never played before, hold on to your hat! Don’t worry about the rules – you’ll figure it out quickly. And if you get hooked, click here and here to play a couple more installments!

So stuff some shin guards into your socks, because it’s time to play…

WHAT’S IN THE CROCKPOT?

KITCHEN SINK QUINOA SOUP is in the Crockpot!

A couple crockpot notes: Yep, my crockpot handle is still broken (and likely unfixable) – hence my jury-rigged painter’s tape handle. Also, I recently found slow cooker liners in a drawer, after having forgotten that I had them, so I’m using one of those. They’re bags specifically designed to fit in crockpots, and afterwards, you just lift them out and toss ‘em, eliminating all crockpot cleaning completely. They’re fantastic.

Now, the recipe. Since I brought home so much produce from the store on Sunday, I decided I should do something with the remaining produce from last week, before it spoiled.  Soup is an excellent solution, since you can throw pretty much anything you want in a soup (though not the kitchen sink, hence this recipe’s name) and it’ll still taste good.

I started by chopping up a bunch of veggies:

The bowl contains:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • a few handfuls of brussel sprouts
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 white onion
  • 4-5 celery stalks

I also added a couple heaping handfuls of kale, which I cut into ribbons:

They all went into the crockpot, followed by 2/3 cup quinoa. Then, for flavor, I added the final 1/3 of a jar of salsa.

I filled the empty salsa bottle with water, closed it, and sloshed it around, to get all the final salsa bits off the bottom and sides, and poured that in as well for some liquid – I was making a soup, after all. I didn’t want to add too much water, since I know from experience that slow cooking draws all the moisture out of the veggies, so I stuck with one bottle’s worth. Finishing touches: some pepper, some cumin, and just a bit of cayenne. I set the crockpot to high.

Three hours later, the water was nearly all absorbed. I forgot that quinoa sucks up a lot of water while it cooks! I cracked open a box of low-sodium chicken stock and added about 3 cups. Then I turned the slow cooker to low and walked away for a couple more hours.

After 6 hours of cooking (3 on high and 3 on low), I had the soup you saw in the second picture. Once it cooled a little, I transferred it to screw-top containers. It divided perfectly into four of them:

The plan was to put them all in the fridge and take them with me for lunches. Or, I could always freeze them, and thaw them as needed in the future.

But the soup was too tempting to resist, so I ended up eating one of the containers as part of my dinner.

Pretty good! It was thick – more stew-like than soup. And I wish I had more salsa I could’ve added, because I barely tasted it at all.

I think next time I’m at the store I’ll pick up a few things with soup specifically in mind: maybe some orzo, whole wheat pasta, barley, or a more exotic grain I’ve seen at Whole Foods, like spelt. Hell, maybe I’ll get all of the above!

Keep it up, David!

5 Responses to What’s In The Crockpot? Part Six

  1. Dammit! My guess was rotel dip in the crockpot!

  2. I never ever use mine! Its going to be too hot soon too!

  3. Alix Stayton says:

    So smart to use salsa! I’ll be stealing that idea {:-) And I love the little perky tape handle LOL

  4. vanessa says:

    i was gonna ask about the plastic all over the crockpot. LINERS!!! genius!!

    i giggled a bit when you said you sloshed water in the salsa jar. i used to tear up chicken nuggets and slosh them around a near empty ranch dressing jar. SAD but True.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

