Angelcots

Remember the angelcots I recently picked up during my impromptu visit to the Armenian grocery store? Well, they’re all gone. But, being the good blogger that I am, I took a few more pictures.

You may recall from my other angelcot post that angelcots are a yellow (and even slightly green), rare, specialty hybrid variety of apricot.

They only place they’re grown is on a few acres in northern California, so ‘specialty’ might be an understatement!

Like all good apricots, they’re easy to cut and the pit is easy to remove.

I ate two at one time, and then, a day later, when they had softened a little more, I ate the other two.

Guess what they tasted like? Apricots! Maybe I had built them up too much in my head… but I couldn’t tell the difference between these and other apricots. Maybe I shouldn’t assume that fruit that’s rarer than a butter-churning bear and that’s solely grown in one location would be the tastiest thing I’ve ever put in my mouth. Or maybe these angelcots weren’t good examples of the majesty of their species. Or maybe it’s just a bad year for angelcots.

For the record, tasting like apricots is not a bad thing. I like apricots. They’re fantastic. If you see angelcots, you should give ‘em a try. Hell, I might even buy them again if I see them. I’m just not going to expect much of a difference between them and any other apricot.

But you don’t learn such stuff like this if you don’t try new things. So…

…Keep it up, David!

3 Responses to Angelcots

  1. Sometimes fruit is fruit! But who knows, they could be amazing in the right conditions. Organic, from a real farm somewhere.

  2. Karen Tong says:

    I came across your blog when I googled Angelcots. Just had some from Trader Joe’s and they were soooo juicy that they squirted when I cut them open. Try another batch from TJs if you can.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

