Weight Loss Chart, Version 3.0

It’s an exciting day… time to unveil my Weight Loss Chart, Version 3.0!

I started my weight loss chart in early 2010, shortly after I began losing weight, and it proved to be a huge motivator. I hung it in my closet, and it was great to see, every morning as I got dressed, a reminder of the weight that I’d lost so far. As I continued to lose weight, the chart continued to grow, and eventually, it had wrapped around two walls of my closet. By the end of 2011, it had outgrown my closet, and I was out of space to keep the chart going. Here’s the original Weight Loss Chart at it’s longest – 9 full pages!

So, in December 2011, I rejiggered some stuff and introduced my Weight Loss Chart, Version 2.0. Basically, I redrew the first year of my weight loss, consolidating it from 5 pages to 2, and moved the 4 most recent pages underneath, so there was plenty of room to add new pages. Version 2.0 started life looking like this:

You can learn more about the birth of Version 2.0 by clicking here.

But time keeps marching on, as it’s prone to do, and a few weeks ago, I ran out of space again. I was at the end of my eighth page, with no room for a ninth. The last time you saw my weight loss chart, it looked like this:

I’ve been torn about what to do. On one hand, the Weight Loss Chart is a fantastic, instant visual reminder of all that I’ve accomplished. On the other hand, I refer to it much less than I used to, and there are times when I’ve looked at the last year, where I’ve gained and lost the same 5-7 pounds multiple times, and thought the Weight Loss Chart didn’t serve any good at all. I’ve even considered retiring my Weight Loss Chart altogether. But I’m not going to that.

I’m happy with my decision about the future of my Weight Loss Chart.  And that’s where Version 3.0 comes in.

Presenting… Version 3.0!

I took down the 6 pages in the second row of Version 2.0, and redrew them, adding to the chart that represented Year One. This means that I’ve accurately represented 2.5 years of weight loss and maintenance on three pages (although I’ve already added the fourth, because I’m gonna need it shortly).

The chart still hangs in my closet, but doesn’t take up nearly as much room:

Here’s what I redrew (the last year of my weight):

When it’s condensed like this, it looks like I’ve been yo-yo-ing an awful lot, but really, I’ve stayed with an 8-pound range for an entire year. My lowest weight was 232 pounds (last October), and my high point was 240 pounds (a few weeks ago), and I’m currently at 238.

Which brings me to the other change I’m implementing with Version 3.0: Moving forward, I’m only updating my Weight Loss Chart once a month. I think this is best. You longtime readers know that I’ve struggled in the past to find a balance regarding my scale. If I don’t weigh myself often enough, I lose accountability, and if I weight myself too often, I start obsessing over the number. Weighing myself every two weeks works for me, and I’m going to continue doing just that. But since I rely less on the Weight Loss Chart than I used to, updating it once a month seems reasonable. I’ll give it a try, and see how it goes.

And that brings us to the final order of business for today… yesterday’s weigh-in! I stepped on the scale, and it said…

238 pounds!

That exactly the same as two weeks ago, and I’m fine with that. That means I’ve lost, in total, 164 pounds. I’d update my Weight Loss Chart… but it’s not the first of the month!

Keep it up, David!

7 Responses to Weight Loss Chart, Version 3.0

  1. Ryan says:

    David,

    The fact that you’ve maintained your weight loss for a year is a great accomplishment. No doubt the statistics show (and I have been in this category) that the majority of people who lose significant amounts of weight gain it within 5 years. As long as you keep doing what you’ve done in the past year, you will have lifelong success!

    One thing I’m thinking, have you thought about perhaps creating another chart, one that will be used to motivate/see progress. For example, I know that you are focusing a lot on exercise. Perhaps there is an activity you can monitor (i.e. a running distance, or number of max pushups, or number of max pullups, etc.).

    For myself, I’ve started focusing on pullups. 10 months ago, I couldn’t even do 1. 7 months ago, I was able to accomplish my first pullup. Today, I am able to do 5 in a row. And I know, as long as I keep working on it, this number will keep going up and up. While I will not be officially charting it, I know it is continually improving.

    So anyway, I was wondering if perhaps there is an exercise activity that you would want to track your progress on, and use a chart to keep you motivated. Just an idea… The thing I like about exercise related charts, there is almost always no “end” point, there’s always room for improvement…

    All the best!
    RY

    • David says:

      Thanks Ryan! Thanks for the kind words. I actually keep two exercise-related charts: My Running Chart (which has come in handy in the past while training for my two 10Ks), and my Skyscraper Collection, which I use to track success on the StairMaster. I’d like to figure out a weightlifting goal to push myself towards, but I haven’t yet cracked that nut.
      PS – When did you end up in Rwanda?!?

      • Ryan says:

        I’ve been in Rwanda since the beginning of April. I’ve signed a 1 year contract, which may be renewed, we’ll see how things go. I’m a manager/instructor and a digital media school that is being funded by the Rwandan government, so I’m actually a civil servant these days…

      • David says:

        Congrats! Sounds like a wonderful position for you! Hope it’s going well so far, and hope you’re enjoying your new home. I watched your home tour video… I’ll have to read more of your website… Sounds fascinating! -D

  2. Holly says:

    I love the chart! It’s nice to see progress and staying in an 8lb range is amazing. Keep it up, David!

  3. Sarah says:

    CONGRATS! Like the new chart too!

  4. Kelly Bo-Belly says:

    Love version 3.0. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

