Colorado Biking

Today’s the day that I’m running the BolderBOULDER 10K (or, depending on when you read this, I may have already run it)! I’ll post a recap soon, but for now, I wanted to share a few other things I’ve been doing in Colorado.

On Saturday, I went biking for the first time since last September, and my second time in about a decade (read about my September experience, and my history with biking, here). I went with my sister Sarah and her friend Karen. Here’s Sarah and I before leaving:

And here’s Sarah, me, and Karen:

I borrowed gear from my brother-in-law Justin – most importantly, I borrow his bike and helmet. But I also borrowed a pair of bike shorts, which are lined with extra padding in the butt and…. um… crotch region. It definitely felt weird to wear padded shorts:

Me: This must be what it’s like to wear a maxi pad.

Justin: Whenever I wear them, I feel like I just crapped my pants.

Aren’t we both lovely?

Sarah led us on a fantastic route, a lot of which was on Coal Creek Trail, a great path that followed a little babbling creek. On the way back when went through downtown Louisville, a cute little small town, and, in total, we went 11.77 miles. I used RunKeeper (although I switched it to the ‘biking’ setting), so here’s our route:

We rode for a little over an hour, excluding a 5-min break about halfway through (I hit the Pause button on RunKeeper). It felt good to be on a bike, and it’s got me considering getting one in LA, although I’m only considering it at this point. We’ll see.

The other exciting bike-related news is that when we got back from our ride, we witnessed my 6-year-old nephew Sam ride a bike for the first time! I’ve never seen a kid learn to ride a bike so quickly. He figured out a lot of it on his own, and within a couple hours of riding for the first time, he was going around the entire block without stopping and without falling. Very cool.

I took care of making lunch. Justin fired up the grill and I loaded it up:

Those are Morningstar Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers in the top left, some hot dogs, and a ton of veggies: green pepper, asparagus, portabella mushrooms, and green and yellow zucchini. And I only used a little cooking spray – no oil whatsoever. My lunch plate:

That’s a black bean burger, with onion, tomato, lettuce (under the tomato), and hummus (also under the tomato). The bread is one of my favorite new items: Flatout Foldit Artisan Flatbreads. They’re 100 calories each, perfect for sandwiches, and pretty tasty. It was a delicious lunch – especially delicious after all that bike riding!

Keep it up, David!

PS: I posted pictures of all three of my Sunday meals on Facebook and Twitter – because all three of meals ended up being based around healthy sandwiches! Check out my Facebook page and Twitter feed – and click ‘like’ or ‘follow’ (respectively) so you don’t miss a thing!

One Response to Colorado Biking

  1. That grill spread looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

