Wednesday Weigh-In

It’s been two weeks, folks.

Yesterday it was time to STEP ON THE SCALE!

Here’s what happened:

UP ONE POUND.

I’d be lying if I said this one didn’t disappoint me a little bit, but I’ve been working hard to not let it get me down, and that’s proven much easier than I was expecting. Here’s the thing: I had an excellent two weeks. I had a ridiculously active four days in New York City, and my exercise didn’t let up when I got home. I also have been eating really well, too.

Maybe this is one of those times where I should embrace that all my weight lifting has resulted in gained muscle mass. Maybe this is one of those times where I should acknowledge that everyone has weight fluctuations on a daily basis, and that number might not be indicative of what I actually weigh. Maybe this is one of those times where I should shake my fist in the air and curse sodium for causing bloat, because I did have some wonderfully delicious and terribly salty jerky yesterday afternoon as a pre-workout protein fix.

Whatever the reason, I will not let one stupid pound get me down - especially because looking back, I don’t think there’s much I would’ve done differently in the past two weeks.

Weighing 240 means that I’ve lost 162 pounds. I’d rather focus on that than one inexplicable pound. No need to beat myself up – and every reason to keep working hard and trying my best.

Keep it up, David!

PS – It’s decision time. As you can see in the second photo, I’m at the end of my weight loss chart, and I need to figure out if I’m going to add another page, reconfigure the chart, or perhaps retire it altogether. Click here to read the post where I weigh the pros and cons in my weight-loss chart (as well as some wonderful feedback from my readers), and be sure to speak up in the comments section if you have something to add!

7 Responses to Wednesday Weigh-In

  1. Matt says:

    I also had jerky yesterday! MAN was it salty.

    I think it’s time for you to start incorporating body fat percentage readings into your chart. I honestly don’t know why you haven’t been doing it all along.

    As for the size of your chart, just redraw the whole thing with a shorter X-axis. You’ll be fine.

  2. Leslie says:

    You GO David! I’m all for computerizing your chart :)

  3. Emma says:

    I put my weight/ measurements into my phone every month or so, where it calculates everything from my estimated body fat to my BMI to my theoretical clothes size. Greener than paper – although your chart is still awesome :)

  4. Laura says:

    I look at your chart and I think, wow! look at how long he has maintained! No slow gain right back up! In my world that would be like a Christmas Miracle. I know you want to lose more and of course I support you 100%, but I think the fact that you have remained steady at around the same weight is a fantastic accomplishment. xoxo

  5. Laura says:

    BTW I second the comment above about other metrics- like tracking body fat, or measurements. What if you weighed yourself one week and the scale didn’t change, but you gained an inch in muscle across your chest/shoulders/whatever? Pretty cool. Right now you are not tracking any other changes in your body except weight.

  6. I love your chart! You have made tremendous progress, really, it’s just amazing. You have a lot to be proud of! I’m so glad I read this post though, I was feeling off about the whole losing thing myself. You’re right, why would you let one silly pound wreck your day. No way! Like the others have said, I bet you are gaining benefit in other ways that aren’t reflected on the scale, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

