Brooklyn Bridge “Before” and “Current” Photos

I’m exhausted.

In a post last week, I mentioned I was travelling, but I didn’t mention where. If you follow me on Twitter, you could’ve gotten a couple clues over the past few days, but in case you missed those tweets… I was in New York City!

I just got home a little while ago from a fantastic, jam-packed 4 days in Manhattan, and I’m pooped. I hung out with my brother, sister-in-law and two nephews, went to the wedding of one of my best high school friends, and saw a bunch of other friends from high school and college. I spent four days on the move – seeing landmarks, going to a Broadway play and, of course, eating well and exercising.

Most of my trip is well documented in photographs, but I’m way too tired to sort through all of it tonight. My next post will have a ton of photos and details. For right now, I thought I’d share a “Before” and “Current” Photo Comparison.

I’ve been on a roll recreating pictures of me when I was at my heaviest. A few months ago, My friends Paul and Court helped me recreate some “Before” pictures that were taken at the Getty Center (see them here, they’re awesome). Then, last month, I got a new photo in front of the ugly yellow wall in downtown Los Angeles that I was photographed in front of a few years back (see it here), and my friend Steve created a kick-ass photoshop overlay that combines two images into one (it’s very cool – see it here).

Now it’s time for a new comparison!

Check this out – the following picture was taken in June 2008. I’m standing at the edge of the East River in Brooklyn, with the Brooklyn Bridge overhead and the Manhattan Bridge in the background. At the time, there were a series of temporary waterfalls installed up and down the riverfront as an public art project. I was hanging out with my friend Jonathan that day, and he took this picture:

On Sunday, I walked the Brooklyn Bridge with my brother Steven, my sister-in-law Alexis, and their two boys, Maren and Eddie. We found the exact spot where that photo was taken, and Alexis took this new photo of me:

Pretty neat, huh? That right there is what 163 pounds of weight loss looks like!

Here they are, side by side:

Look! You can see my neck!

I’ll add this to the rest of the “Before” and “Current” photos in the Photo Gallery soon. And there’s lots more about New York to come. In the meantime…

Keep it up, David!

8 Responses to Brooklyn Bridge “Before” and “Current” Photos

  1. ameryati says:

    OMG! The difference is so clear David. You’ve come a long way. :-) Keep it up!

  2. kay says:

    Your body is a lot smaller, but your SMILE is much, MUCH bigger!

  3. Alison says:

    Outstanding! You should be so proud! Keep inspiring not only yourself but others :)

  4. Again, amazing job!! You should be proud of yourself :)

  5. GREAT picture, David! What a sense of accomplishment :)

  6. Amazing David!! The difference is so crazy…

  7. This is so inspirational. I wish I could be this disciplined when it comes to diet and exercise! I’ve been going under a strict diet because when I last checked with my doctor, I am still not a candidate (http://www.liposuctioncost.com/are-you-a-candidate-for-liposuction) for liposuction. I don’t know if I should still push through with the operation or simply stick with my diet.

    • David says:

      Thank you, Noah – so glad you found the blog and are enjoying it. I hope your weight loss efforts are going well. I too have been considering cosmetic surgery (http://keepitupdavid.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/plasticsurgery/), a component of which is liposuction. Although the procedures I’m considering are more about body sculpting/excess skin removal than as a weight loss tool, I understand the appeal of going under the knife to lose some pounds.
      I also think that discipline is key, because should you go forward with any procedure, you’ll need to have a plan for afterwards. Otherwise, what’s gonna stop you from gaining back, immediately, what was removed from you? Take this opportunity, Noah, while on this strict diet, to create and develop new healthy habits – stuff that you can easily incorporate into your life. Work hard to really change the way you eat and move on a permanent basis. Maybe you’ll find that you can lose the weight without surgery, or, at the very least, you’ll be set up for continued success for after the surgery is done.
      KEEP IT UP!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 691 other followers

