April 2012 Progress Report

I’m injured. Again. My foot is completely better, but I’m pretty sure I bruised a rib towards the end of last week. And unlike my foot injury, which was a complete surprise and mystery, I know exactly when and where I bruised my rib: while using a row machine I wasn’t very familiar with at the gym. I’m not using that row machine anymore. Like my foot, there are no external signs that anything’s wrong: no swelling, bruising or redness. But it hurts, and I’m staying off upper body weights this week. I’m still fine to do cardio – and I’m most certainly NOT postponing the big stair climb this weekend (by the way, I reached my fundraising goal this morning – WOOHOO, and thanks Heidi and Tom!) – but this is my third week in a row of nursing an injury and I’m tired of it.

But there’s good news, too. Since May has begun, it’s time for my monthly exercise progress report! I do these at the beginning of each month (check out March, February, and January). Every workout gets noted in my calendar, and once a month, those notes get turned into facts and figures. I nerd out on facts and figures!

Here’s my April calendar:

  • A dot = a workout (with notes that remind me of what the workout was).
  • A circle around the dot = a class at Slimmons. I only took 2 classes there this month, because they’re very high-impact, and after my foot injury I didn’t want to risk aggravating it with all the jumping around.
  • A triangle around a dot = a different type of class (this month, I took a Zumba class and a TRX class, both pre-foot injury).
  • Since I use this calendar for everything, I blurred out information that doesn’t pertain to exercise.

April was a busy month! My new gym opened, Richard Simmons introduced me to a couple ’90s sitcom stars, and my foot injury forced me to postpone my stair climb by two weeks (it’s this Saturday). Last week, I swam laps for the first time in months, and because I liked it so much, I went back a few days later.

In total, I worked out on 26 of the 30 days in April – a 86% success rate! I’m especially proud because I could’ve used my foot injury as a reason to stay home for a week or so, but I got creative and stayed active (lots of seated upper body weights that put no pressure or weight on my foot). In total, 17 of those 26 workouts had an emphasis on weightlifting, which is my second-highest number ever (behind July of last year, when I had 20 weightlifting-focused workouts).

Here’s April compared with the 5 prior months:

  • November 2011: Worked out 23 out of 30 days (76%), including 6 classes at Slimmons. 9 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • December 2011: Worked out 23 out of 31 days (74%), including 5 classes at Slimmons. 15 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • January 2012: Worked out 26 out of 31 days (83%), including 7 classes at Slimmons, and 1 class at Crunch. 12 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • February 2012: Worked out 23 out of 29 days (79%), including 4 classes at Slimmons, and 1 yoga class. 13 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • March 2012: Worked out 27 out of 31 days (87%), including 5 classes at Slimmons and 1 spin class. 14 workouts had a weightlifting focus.
  • April 2012: Worked out 26 out of 30 days (86%), including 2 classes at Slimmons, and 2 other classes. 17 workouts had a weightlifting focus.

So far in 2012, I’ve exercised 102 out of 121 days (84%), including 18 classes at Slimmons.

Keep it up, David!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

