We Have A NEW Winner! Plus, Kitchen Sink Smoothie

Happy Saturday!

So I have bad news and I have good news. The bad news is that Randi Marie Simpson failed to come forward to claim the Edible Arrangements fresh fruit bouquet that she won yesterday. As I explained when I announced the contest, and again when the winner’s name was announced, the winner has 24 hours to email me to claim their prize. Unfortunately, Randi didn’t email me – and I checked my Spam folder and everything.

The good news is that someone else now has a chance of winning the fresh fruit bouquet! I went through the same process as before with the random number generator at random.org, and a new winner was generated. That number was 81, and the 81st comment belonged to…

GEORGINA FIGUEROA!  Yay, you won! Here’s Georgina’s comment:

Congratulations!

Same rules apply: This post went live at 7:15pm PST on Saturday, April 28th, and you have 24 hours (until 7:15pm PST on Sunday, April 29th) to send me an email at keepitupdavid@gmail.com to claim your prize. Remember how, when you left the winning comment, you had to provide an email address? You gotta email me from that address (which I can see but no one else can) so I know it’s you and not an imposter!

I’m tired of picking winners. Georgina, come claim your prize!!!

**Update: Georgina has claimed the prize. Congrats, Georgina!**

Moving on…

I’ve never been a huge smoothie person. I’ve enjoyed them occasionally, but it rarely crosses my mind to make my own smoothies in my own kitchen. That might be starting to change. And I have frozen fruit to blame thank.

A few weeks ago, I came across strawberries at a ridiculous prize: $1.25 for a one-pound container. I spent $5 and bought four – I couldn’t pass it up! Unfortunately for me, it was one day after a big visit to another supermarket, and I was already loaded up on fruit. So I washed and hulled all 4 pounds of strawberries, put them in a big container, and froze ‘em.

Earlier in the week, it occurred to me that the strawberries would make a great base for a smoothie. They’d both flavor and chill the smoothie at the same time, and I do love when fruit is capable of multitasking. So I made a smoothie. And I enjoyed it.

Yesterday, I made another smoothie. And I jotted down what I used to make it, so I could share with you.

There are a bazillion smoothie recipes out there, and I didn’t look at a single one. I pulled out all my fruits and vegetables and tossed a bunch of stuff in, including a few things that probably have no right being in a smoothie. But that’s the joy of smoothies (and why I call mine Kitchen Sink Smoothies): You can throw pretty much anything in there, and add enough fruit, and it’ll taste great! I have a hunch I’ll never make a smoothie the same way twice.

I started with about 1/4 cup skim milk. Then I added a handful of frozen strawberries, and a handful of frozen grapes (which taste awesome frozen; they’re a great snack all by themselves). Then I went through my veggies to see what was closest to going bad. I settled on 3 roma tomatoes and a zucchini. I roughly chopped ‘em up, and added them in. And, just to bulk it up with veggies a little further, I added 2 baby eggplant and a radish (I thought the heat might be a nice touch). Then I added more sweetness by throwing a pear and kiwi into the mix.

The end result, as shown above, wasn’t sickly sweet. It was perfect. Couldn’t taste the zucchini or eggplant (the two items I was most skeptical about), and because of all the veggies, I didn’t worry about it being a huge calorie bomb, like some smoothies can be (especially at juice bars). It ended up being a lot of smoothie, too – I was drinking smoothie for half the day, without any guilt at all!

I’m already thinking about what I can use in my next smoothie.

Keep it up, David!

6 Responses to We Have A NEW Winner! Plus, Kitchen Sink Smoothie

  1. verabear says:

    It is SO smoothie season where I am, it is so hot all day and all night. I ordered a Magic Bullet before summer started, and the site I got it from hasn’t delivered until now! Ugh!

  2. Pat says:

    What # was I?

  3. Michele says:

    I always wanted to make my own smoothies now im gonna give it a try. I love strawberries

  4. Ellie Wing says:

    Oh well…Randi’s loss was Georgina’s gain. Congrats Georgina! :~) On another note… Great looking smoothie. Smoothies are AWESOME!! And so is zucchini-cooked or raw! Keepitupdavid!! ;~) My daughter’s lactose intolerant, so we’ve been using the coconut & almond milks that are out now. I don’t even bother getting skim milk for myself anymore-they’re so DELICIOUS!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

