Weight Chart Update AND Underground “Before”/”Current” Photos!

The last time I weighed myself, two weeks ago, I had to give myself a big ole pep talk. And I needed it. And it worked! The past two weeks have been full of good choices and healthy eating. But I also had a major body part conspiring against me: my foot. After injuring it last week, I spent the better part of three days plopped on my couch, icing and elevating it. I did make it to the gym for some upper body workouts, but I also ended up having a couple more rest days than I had planned.

Given the circumstances, I’d quite happy with the results of yesterday’s weigh-in:

Maintaining my weight is a good thing. Nope, I’m wrong… it’s a GREAT thing.

Here’s another shot of my weight loss chart:

This morning I took a good long look at the first year of my chart, which I condensed, a few months ago, onto two pages. These two pages will always be a great motivator for me:

So, for everyone keeping score at home, maintaining my weight means I’ve still lost 162 pounds. And counting.

MOVING ON.

I was downtown a few days ago, and some friends and I went to lunch. We headed over to 505 Flower, which is an office tower that has an big underground shopping center beneath it. The shopping center is mostly restaurants and eateries, and I had a fantastic salad at a place called Salata, a Texas chain that opened their first California location last year.

As exciting as that salad was, what was more exciting was that it was my first time at 505 Flower in about three years, and I had the chance to update a “Before” picture!

505 Flower has these glowing yellow and blue walls near their escalators, and, truth be told, they’re kinda cool and kinda hideous at the same time. Three years ago, I got a picture with my friend Heather in front of the wall, and it’s a terrible photo. It was taken at 1am, and there’s nothing I like about it, and that what makes it a perfect ‘Before’ photo!

You can see the version with Heather (and a more recent picture with Heather, who has lost 50 pounds, by clicking on Photo Gallery – there are lots of ‘Before’ and ‘Current’ photos there).

And here I am, just a few days ago, in front of the very same wall:

Pretty. Effin’. Sweet.

A note to anyone who finds themselves at 505 Flower: as tempting as that glowing wall may seem, it’s a really tough background for a Kodak moment. My friend Maya took the above picture, and she took about 15 just so I could have one that turned out semi-decently. I have a hunch that not many people will look good in front of that shade of glowing yellow. But if you’re in downtown LA, I invite you to go and prove me wrong!

I actually LOVE another picture that Maya got of me – full silhouette!

This picture makes me want to shout GO BLUE! – and if you’re a fellow University of Michigan alum or fan, than you’ll know why.

KEEP IT UP, DAVID!

PS: Tomorrow’s the deadline to enter my giveaway to win a $68 fresh fruit bouquet from Edible Arrangements. Have you entered yet?

CLICK HERE! CLICK HERE! CLICK HERE! CLICK HERE! CLICK HERE!

11 Responses to Weight Chart Update AND Underground “Before”/”Current” Photos!

  1. Sarah says:

    nice work david!

  2. Matt says:

    GO BLUE!!!

  3. pagiola says:

    hi David! its amazing and ultra motivating to see your pictures! I´ve been following you since last may 2011 almost a year and by my count now am 50 pounds lighter and a gym recurrent when never before have been doing exercise thanks for all your effort in this hard work and sharing because is highly motivational

    • David says:

      Thank you for such a wonderful comment. It makes my day to hear you’ve been a reader for so long, and I’m humbled to read that I’ve motivated you in your own health endeavors. CONGRATS on the 50 pounds – AMAZING! I hope you keep reading, and keep me posted on how you’re doing. KEEP IT UP!

  4. Pat says:

    Michigan State: THE University of Michigan!

  5. jennifer says:

    you look like a superhero wolverine!

  6. Tv Food and Drink says:

    very very very VERY impressive. I have only seen the BEFORE David in person. I look forward to meeting up with the AFTER David sometime soon! Keep it up….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers

