Photo Phriday

Happy Friday! Since yesterday’s Haircut Photo-Essay got a great response (thanks for all the compliments on my new ‘do!), I thought I’d share some other random-ish photos that have built up over the past few days. First, though, I wanna give a great big appreciative shout-out to my friend Tavi, who was the one that actually cut all my hair off AND took all the photos in yesterday’s post. Our little haircut/photo shoot yielded 173 photos (!), which I edited down to 11.

Because we both knew what the end result was going to be, I let Tavi shave my head in whatever manner he wanted. That’s how I ended up with the Mohawk in the 6th photo, and the more Tintin-esque ‘do in the 7th (click here to see both). But what you didn’t see was what Tavi did in the back. He gave me what he called the “hare krishna” – and here’s a photo of it that didn’t make the cut for yesterday’s photo-essay:

It’s quite possibly the best mullet I’ve ever sported. Or worst mullet. Or both. I’m so glad I only had it for a matter of minutes.

A few of you, in your comments, asked if I’ve noticed a difference in my head shape, since the buzz cut was inspired by my hairstylist’s observation that I’ve lost weight in my scalp, and to answer your question: YES. I think my entire head is narrower, and I used to have bulges of skin along the back that are no longer there. This isn’t the first time I’ve buzzed my head – I did it my freshman year of high school as a member of the swim team, and I’ve done it in the past decade, too, most recently a few times about four or five years ago. A picture of me from that last head-buzzing period is in the ‘Keep It Up, David’ header at the top of the page, and here it is again, next to one of the new pictures of me… which means it’s time for a…

‘BEFORE’ and ‘CURRENT’ Photo Comparison! Photo on the left is from March 2008. Photo on the right is from yesterday. I see a difference. Do you?

I’ll be sure to add that to my collection of ‘Before’ and ‘Current’ photo comparisons in the Photo Gallery.

Now for some other photos I’ve been meaning to share:

The View From The Gym. I’ve had three great weightlifting workouts this week at the gym, and during each one, I’ve taken a moment to look out the windows. My gym is on the second and third floors of a building right at the base of the Hollywood Hills, which means I get to sweat my ass off while seeing this out the window:

Not too shabby!

Locker Room Signage: My gym has a fun sense of humor with their signage, as evidenced by the last rule on this sign in the locker room:

Yes, I know, I broke the third rule because I wanted to share the fifth rule. Shhh… it’ll be our secret.

New Kicks. Because I raised the most money during a specific five-day period leading up to my big 63-story stair climb last weekend, I ended up winning a new pair of shoes from a local running store! Yesterday I headed to Fleet Feet Sports in Encino, where a nice guy named John helped fit me with a great new pair of shoes. I ended up picking the Nike Air Pegasus, partly because they fit well and were comfortable, and partly because I loved the yellow:

Love them! My prize had a $100 limit, and these were $95, so I ended up paying $3.31 in tax. No complaints from me!

Border Grill Truck. I got dinner last night at a food truck. The Border Grill truck was parked outside the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, the venue for a great Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra concert I attended that explored the connections between food and music. The special guest speaker at the concert was Susan Feniger, the restauranteur behind the Border Grill restaurants, and one of the earliest Food Network stars (her show with partner Mary Sue Milliken, Two Hot Tamales, debuted in 1995, shortly after the network first launched). I’ve been a couple times (years ago) to one of Feniger’s restaurants, but this was the first time I’ve eaten at her truck.

The truck serves burritos, quesadillas, and more, but I ordered two tacos and ceviche. One of the tacos was Yucatan Pork (roasted achiote pork, pickled onion, orange salsa), and the other was Citrus Chicken (with tomatillo and creamy salsa fresca). The ceviche had fish, lime, chile, pickled onion, and a couple tortilla chips, and was served in a paper cone, like you’d find at an old-school water cooler.

It was all ridiculously delicious. I wouldn’t object to following the Border Grill Truck around, eating my way down their menu.

Eating reasonably from a food truck… new workout shoes… a great exercise week…

…Keep it up, David!

2 Responses to Photo Phriday

  1. Sarah says:

    I love that sign. Hilarious

  2. Tavi says:

    Nice kicks! Let’s workout before I leave!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

